Healthify Me

Pushing forward with my making my own meals has been going great.  From breakfasts to dinners to snacks, I have been pretty successful at creating foods that I enjoy, are simple, and are not prepackaged!  I can successfully say that from Monday to Friday, I successfully made all of my meals, even if it was just a salad.  No Clif Bars.  No frozen pizza. Lots of fruits and veggies.

Here are some of the things I have been making:

IMG_4534

Banana “Ice Cream” – I have seen this all over the blog-o-sphere, but I am just now getting around to making it.  Fairly freaking simple.  Freeze a banana (after first peeling it) and use a blender or food processor to process it until it is the consistency of ice cream.  You can add all sorts of mix-ins.  I added a spoonful of peanut butter and then topped it with chocolate.  Other things that would be perfect: cocoa powder, cinnamon, chocolate chips, fruit, vanilla extract.  Ahhh, the possibilities are endless.  And this is coming from someone who doesn’t like bananas…  One banana makes a pretty good portion.  ❤

IMG_4532

I know I didn’t really make this one, but I did make the roasted chickpeas on top! The cinnamon from the chick peas and the peanut butter/rice cake combo is amazing.  Love it!

Big salad with some of my lentil crumbles in there!

Organic puffed rice with Chobani Champions orange vanilla and some candied pecans.  I wonder who sent me these amazing pecans Winking smile?!

IMG_4535

Piece of plain toast, 2 eggs with lentil crumbles, and some coffee with Hazelnut Silk creamer!

IMG_4586

IMG_4595

Taco bar for Travis and I.  And some potatoes on the side! He had chicken and I had some lentil “meat”.  (Notice a pattern? I’ve pretty much used it on everything this week haha.)

IMG_4593

Oh ya, and how could I forget?! Yesterday was my roommate Anna’s birthday as well as my other roommate’s boyfriend, Joe! Alyssa made some celebratory slutty brownies.  Which are to die for.

All in all…great food and a great week of eats! Smile

12 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

12 responses to “Healthify Me

  1. That does look super good (everything!). Celebratory slutty brownies…oh geez lol. 😉

  2. Good for you! All of your eats look incredibly clean, and not to mention, delicious. I, on the other hand, have had a couple dinners out in the city this week… eeeesh.

  3. ittybitsofbalance

    I just have to chime in and say how proud I am of you! That is so amazing that you can make such drastic diet changes in such a short amount of time– especially with your busy schedule and the convenience of Clif Bars & such. And I LOVE your idea of the chickpeas on a rice cake!! Keep up the great work 🙂

    And by the way, I’ve never heard of slutty brownies, but HAHAHAHAHAH!

  4. You have been enjoying such great eats lately Nikki, I am so proud of you for your choices! Even the brownies (love the name btw!) it’s all about moderation and balance!! I need to try roasted chick peas still!

  5. It’s definitely a challenge to make everything & not resort to pre-made/pre-packaged foods!

    I NEED to try the banana ice cream & OMG that brownie looks amazing!

  6. Lovin’ the healthy eats….so fresh! I am a huge lentil lover, I have them in my lunch almost everyday, for sure my favorite grain!!
    I hope you have a great weekend ahead of you!
    xoxo!

  7. Neon Blonde Runner

    I am going to try that frozen banana thing, yummm looks so easy and yummy. In fact all your little recipes look great!

  8. That is super impressive that you made all of your meals this weekend! I am proud! 😉 I wish I had more time to do things like that…although we just got a crock pot from my sister so I’m very excited to try some crock pot recipes!!!

  9. YESS to making your own meals! I love this. Making my own meals is one of the highlights of my existence. Ok..a little too far, but you can see how much it excites me!! That rice cake with the toppings is super creative! I have to try that! Oh and the banana ice cream for sure..YUM!

  10. awesome job sticking to your plan! And everything looks so delicious!

  11. Wow, you are an amazingly healthy eater! Great work!

  12. Awesome meals! They all look yummy! 🙂 That’s exciting that you planned them all and they are all healthy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

