Running and Reading Long

I don’t remember whether or not I have talked about it, but I signed up for a program called Running and Reading Long.  It is sort of like a book club with a fitness aspect included.  Not only do participants read running and fitness related books, but there is also a training plan aspect for walking and/or running.

There are different options for running training plans.  Because I am still working toward full injury recovery, I decided to play it safe and start with the 5k training plan. 

On Monday, I was still heading back to school, and so I just went on a basic walk around the block.  Tuesday, I ran for 15 minutes at physical therapy.  Yesterday, I went on a walk at the women’s retreat I was at (more on that later!).  So far, I feel good.  I know I could possibly do more, but I don’t want to risk reinjuring myself. I have also decided to forego a race at the end as I want to give myself full recovery.  I have also decided to add cross-training for Sunday’s as they aren’t included in the plan.  In addition to what is on this plan, I have also been doing yoga and some strength training, and I hope to continue that throughout.

For the first book, we are currently reading Running for Women by Kara Goucher.  So far, I am loving it! But more on that as I continue reading Smile.

I will be posting weekly Thursday posts about the program and an update on how it is going.  Keep your eyes open for it!

And also, I would be rude if I didn’t say how thankful I am for all of the kind words and prayers you have sent my way in the past week.  It really means a lot to me to have all of you here in a hard time.  You all are the best Winking smile!

Happy Thursday!

22 Comments

Filed under Book, Running

22 responses to “Running and Reading Long

  1. Running & Reading Long sounds like a fun program! I look forward to reading your posts about it!

  2. Can’t wait for the recap on the Women’s Retreat!! 🙂 I love doing that kind of stuff. 🙂

  3. That program looks really neat! Two of my favorite things mixed together: running and reading!!

  4. healthcraved

    wow–what a cool program! looking forward to reading about it every Thursday! so these books are in addition to your summer reading list??

  5. I was traveling and missed a lot of your posts. Just wanted to send some prayers and hugs your way. Hang in there! I like the running/reading log idea too- way to combine everything. 🙂

  6. Stacy

    Looking forward to chatting tonight – assuming I figure out the Twitter thing and the time difference (I’m EST)!

  7. Amy

    What a neat idea for a club! I didn’t realize Kara had a book out. And sorry about everything going on in your life (I scrolled down a bit…very sad).

  8. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs

    Whoa, this looks like an awesome program! Good luck with finishing up your recovery. 🙂

  9. The running book club sounds awesome!! Yay for starting slow and getting back in to the runs!! You are going to be back to a 5K in no time! I can’t wait to read how you like this book!

  10. oooh! i really want to read that, mostly because i am obsessed with Kara Goucher – she is such an inspiration!

  11. What a great idea to combine two things that are really fun to do with groups!

  12. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    I love this concept – can’t wait to read more about the books you read!

  13. How cool! That sounds like an awesome program ! I can’t wait to hear more 🙂

  14. That is interesting. I cannot wait to hear more!

  15. Sounds like an interesting program! Looking forward to hearing about that.. and the book!

  16. Glad you are listening to your body and taking things easy! Glad it is going well for you!

  17. I think it’s good to play it safe! I’m excited to get to know you!

Leave a Reply

