Women’s Consortium Retreat

On Wednesday, I attended a Women’s Consortium Retreat for members of the Shippensburg University community.  When I signed up for the event, I wasn’t really sure what I was signing up for, but I am SO glad that I went! The retreat took place at King’s Gap Environmental Education Center

The day started off with a light breakfast and introductions.  I had eaten before arriving, but I heard that everything was mighty tasty!

IMG_4762

IMG_4760

Up next we had the choice of two sessions:

  1. Feminine Influence: Voice and Speech at Work and Home
  2. Strategies of Empowerment: Women and Gender in the Middle Ages

IMG_4761

My friend, Lisa, and I decided to head to the first session.  I am so glad we did.  The session was a basic discussion about ways in which women and men are seen to have certain “roles” in communication.  For example, when talking to a newborn, if you know it is a girl, you are more likely to say how cute and dainty the baby is.  But with a boy, it’s more about how big he looks and strong he is.  Society often has barriers put up between men and women.  Men are allowed to be masculine and assertive.  Their assertion is seen as power and strength.  When women are assertive, though, they are seen as rude or stuck-up.  It doesn’t have to be that way, though!!

Up next was just a short meeting to discuss the Women’s Consortium’s plans for the next school year.  Let’s just say, I am very much looking forward to Lunafest.  What better than a film festival sponsored by LUNA?!  Hopefully I am still around for it as I am graduating in December Sad smile.

Next came a session called “They’re Bringing Sexy Back: Political Sex Scandals.” This session was done by my political science professor from my freshman year.  She is as hilarious now as she was back then. No wonder I loved that class so much.  I loved this session, too.  She talks about what is included in the book she wrote with faculty from many different campus departments.  They talked about different sex scandals and how those politicians covered them up or put them in the past to move onward. 

Next, lunchtime.  I am awfully proud of myself for what I ate.  I skipped the junk food and stuck to a nice and simple salad topped with tuna.  I also had a side of mixed nuts that I had snuck in my purse.

IMG_4764

After lunch, we took a walk around the mansion in which the resort took place.  The view from the mansion was awesome, but I think I need to go back to see it on a day that’s less foggy!

IMG_4757

IMG_4759

One side of the huge mansion! It was built in 1908 for James McCormick Cameron.  The mansion has 32 rooms, and it was built for the Cameron family’s summer house! Must be nice!!

IMG_4766

IMG_4767

Those are some pictures from on the back porch of the mansion before we took a short walk around the grounds.

IMG_4770

This shot is look toward the garden on the grounds.  Our hike was pretty gorgeous! I totally to go back for a good hike this summer.

After the walk, we headed to the third session.  In this session, we chose between “Coping with Grief and Loss” and “Soul Collage”.  I decided to make a soul collage.  We were to make a collage from magazines.  The pictures were supposed to follow a theme or reflect your personality.  I chose all things that mean something to me, from teaching to swimming to pretzels Winking smile.

IMG_4773

The fourth and final session was an intense yoga session.  It felt soooo good! And I got my workout in for the day! Kill two birds with one stone!

All in all: GREAT DAY! I am so excited that I went.  It was something that I normally don’t do, and it was so great to step out of my comfort zone and do something new!

What is something that has made you step out of your comfort zone??

9 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life

9 responses to “Women’s Consortium Retreat

  1. Wow this does look fun and I’m so proud of you for getting out there! I also get quite nervous about meeting new people and being in that sort of environment.

  2. It looks like you had a lot of fun and learned some things about yourself along the way. It is always hard for me to step outside of my comfort zone. I am a creature of habit. When I do, it always feels great and I usually don’t regret it.

  3. ittybitsofbalance

    Haha, love the pretzels in your collage 😉 Looks like you had a great time!

  4. this sounds like a great experience. Being a youth leader at mychurch is really something that has pushed my boundaries!

  5. what a great experience!! And a beautiful view to go with it. I love the topics as well

  6. What a fun day!! Your salad looks delicious, and I want to live in this mansion! I spy some pink laces!

  7. Chelsea @ Chelsea Runs

    Sounds like an awesome day and a great experience! 🙂 Glad you had fun!

  8. dang, looks like u had a blast! i’m glad u stepped out of ur comfort zone and into one heck of a purdy place i may add. 🙂

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    What a great day – and a great location! Beautiful views!

Leave a Reply

