Running and Reading Long–Goucher Style

It’s Thursday! You know what that means? Well, other than the fact that we’re another day closer to the weekend, it’s also time for a Running and Reading Long post! Last week was an intro day, but today is the first post about Kara Goucher’s book – Running for Women.

I just finished Kara’s book yesterday, so I have a lot of things fresh in my mind that I was able to relate to Kara through.  Even though she’s a professional runner (one that’s running the marathon for Team USA this summer), I still felt as though I could relate to many of her running experiences.  There is a chapter in the book about staying injury free which really hit home for me.  She has had many sports-related injuries which are all too common in my life.  I’ve had swimming and running related injuries, and Goucher has had her fair share of setbacks as well. Just like she mentioned, stretching and icing are so helpful for injury prevention and recovery.  I’ve totally seen such an improvement in my current injury (almost to the point where I can call it my past injury Winking smile) through the stretching I’ve been doing.

I also really liked when Kara talked about marathons and how there will always be more marathons to run, so don’t necessarily get so hung up on one specific time or event.  This is totally my life right now after getting injured before running the Pittsburgh marathon.

Something I learned about my own training is that it is much more important to look at running (or swimming or any one thing in life) as something that is included in the huge big picture of life.  One simple thing does not determine you as a person.  So (God forbid) you get injured like me, you are still a capable person without running. Running cannot define who you are.  Kara says that she is not a runner, she is merely a person who runs.  I love this aspect. 

Overall, I loved everything about this book.  There were so many tips for runners at every level and age, and also ways to continue running when things get rough and tough. I loved that she includes strategies for running as you age … and injury free, too!

I also love Goucher’s tip to find a healthy alternative to emotional eating.  This is something I need to follow through with.  I could use an alternative to the eating!

As for my training, I have been doing most of it while focusing on how my body feels as well.  I have made it up to 2 miles running, but because of tight hamstrings, I haven’t been pushing myself too far!

Overall I am loving the camaraderie from the Running and Reading Long program as well as Kara’s book.  I will have more about it next Thursday, but until then, if you’d like, join us tonight at 7 pm mountain time (9EST) to twitchat using #runreadlong.  We’ll be chatting about our training as well as Goucher’s book!

What is some of the best running/work out advice you’ve been giving?

24 Comments

Filed under Book, Running and Reading Long, Training

24 responses to “Running and Reading Long–Goucher Style

  1. I love the marathon shirt and wasn’t able to run it either! It’s the half marathon shirt, to be exact, that’s okay. 🙂

  2. I love Kara Goucher! Her son is adorable too. 🙂 I have Adam’s book but haven’t read it yet. The best training advice I’ve ever received is to listen to your body. It can be tough to do, but it is so very important.

  3. healthcraved

    sounds like a good read! that is such a hard thing to teach yourself–that what you do doesn’t define who you are. I’ve had a hard time finding my place without swimming, but I have to keep in mind that I am more than a swimmer, and there is more to me than being athletic

  4. Kara Goucher is amazing, I love how she is so approachable and down-to earth, but is SUCH an exceptional runner! Thanks for the book review, I’ll have to check it out.

  5. Stacy

    This book was full of so much information, I think it’s pretty easy for everyone to find something to relate to and is meaningful for them at any point in their training.

  6. I’ve always wanted to read this book! i think i’ll have to get it soon. I’m a sweat pink ambassador too, I grew up only an hour from Ship and went to East Stroudsburg and played field hockey! I’m also a Pittsburgh fan! 🙂

  7. I loved her book as well! It was so informational and I felt like I was really relating to her on a personal level. One of my favorite books ever.

  8. I really need to read this! It sounds like you got a lot out of it. I always remember to push myself so I can grow, but not too hard so that I burn out. It’s all about balance!

  9. I think this is a book that I would definitely like! Some of the points you hit upon coincided with some things I have difficulty with.. like one simple thing does not determine your person. It is so true.. but it is also much harder to exhibit this behavior – especially when.. like me.. you revolve your life around one area in so many ways.

  10. Sounds like it was a good read! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it!

  11. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    It sounds like you got some great ideas and perspectives from this book – very worthwhile things to take away! Especially not being defined by only one thing, whether it be running or anything.

  12. woohoo, I’m glad you are almost ready to call your injury a “past injury!”

  13. kara’s book is great! she’s got an awesome head on her shoulders and perspective; and most lessons she’s learned the hard way just like we all do!! 🙂 thanks for sharing AND i luv the ‘injury free zone’ can we make that enforced everywhere?? 😉

  14. Oh! Totally getting this book. I am in an “injury free” journey for my next season of half marathons, could use all the tips available. Thanks for the review.

  15. I love the part of your post about wearing the shirt when you didn’t actually run the event. That was me with Boston. I feel kind of weird wearing the shirt, but it’s. $300 tshirt at this point, so I’m wearing it!

    I’m healing my broken to (week 9–ugh!) and I need to get out and do a little something with my upper body just to I don’t turn in to a blob! I gues the advice I have is that running through pain (except in a race, maybe) might just cause more damage, not make you a hero. I’m going to follow my doc’s orders so I don’t miss any more than I already have!

  16. I loved the part about dealing with injury too! It’s so important and I am glad you are still listening to your body!

Leave a Reply

