Komen for the Cure Global 5k Race!

As I mentioned yesterday, this weekend was the Race for the Cure in DC. As always, the Susan G. Komen foundation put on a great event, and the weather made for an awesome race day! This was the first year I have done a global Komen race, as I have only ever done the Mother’s Day Komen 5k in Pittsburgh.  It was pretty awesome to see runners and walkers from all over the world!

IMG_5007

Here’s a little recap!

IMG_4989

After a 5:30 wake up call, my sister, Travis, and I headed to the metro in order to get to the race! My number one supporter came along for a fun filled day! Winking smile

IMG_4990

We made it to the Washington Monument close to 7 a.m., just in time to see the hoards of breast cancer survivors and supporters.  At this point, I was still undecided as to whether I wanted to walk or run the race.  I had yet to run more than 2 miles since beginning physical therapy back in February.

IMG_4992

IMG_4995

Around 7:30, the festivities began.  There was an amazing violinist who played the National Anthem, and then a parade of breast cancer survivors walked out for all to see.  They are so inspiring, whether they realize it or not! It was at about that time that I decided I would run the event, at least for as long as I could. 

IMG_4998

Around 7:50, my sister and I said goodbye to Travis and walked to the race start for runners, as they left before the walkers did.  And shortly after 8, we were off!

IMG_5001

IMG_5003

I felt really good for the first mile.  It wasn’t until about 2 miles in that I felt like I was going to die (haha, which is bad for someone who used to run a lot more on a daily basis…), and I slowed my pace down a little bit.

In the end, I finished in 29:45, and according to my Garmin, it was 3.15 miles.  There was a LOT of swerving and dodging people throughout the event.  I’m ok with it.  There’s something about running with tens of thousands of people dressed just like you that gives you a little boost of happiness.

IMG_5009

Nice and sweaty post race…woot woot! There was a great assortment of post race foods including fruit, fruit snacks, granola bars, pretzels, and plenty of hydration.

IMG_5012

IMG_5028

I loved this pink globe with the flags from countries represented at the Global Race! So awesome!

IMG_5013

And Travis said I looked like a crazy cat lady after the race, but I don’t care! I have a Warrior in Pink scarf from every one of the races since they started the scarves, and I couldn’t pass up getting mine this year!

IMG_5021

IMG_5024

IMG_5026

Beautiful morning, and great race! Thanks so much to the Susan G. Komen Foundation for putting on a great event (even with crazy storms on Friday evening!…somehow the ground wasn’t soaked?!). 

22 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life, Races, Running, Weekend

22 responses to “Komen for the Cure Global 5k Race!

  1. That 5k looks absolutely huge and like so much fun. I’m really glad you were able to run. Big races are hard to Pr in but then again, running is running and I’m glad you could!

  2. I am so happy that you got to run!!!! You are well on your way to getting a PR soon. You would be surprised how much our bodies like the rest when recovering from an injury or race, you can usually bounce back pretty quick and sometimes even stronger.
    I have only ran one Susan G. Komen race and it was a couple of years ago. It falls on a bad weekend in Spokane in mid April which is usually when I am getting ready to run a marathon. Maybe in two years I can run it since I will be doing Boston (hopefully!) next year. 🙂

  3. fairyhealthylife

    Great job Nikki! It looks like a really fun race. Im glad you were able to run. Great time! I love the scarf. 🙂

  4. Awesome job! Thank you for participating in such a wonderful cause!

  5. Great job girl! That is an awesome time for coming off an injury, seriously! I’m so slow, you’ll be passin’ me in no time and PR’in the crap outta it soon. Thanks for your twitter well wishes btw!

  6. YAY!!! You are awesome!! Your time is amazing!

  7. congrats on doing this!!! I love seeing the recap!

  8. Fun!!! Good time! I love 5ks cause it’s so much more about enjoying the event and not as stressful!
    Glad you had a nice time!!

  9. Ashley

    Great job!! Looks like a fantastic event…especially love the scarves 🙂

  10. I am really glad you participated in this and then wrote such a wonderful recap! I would loveee to participate in one of these events someday, obviously its for a rather good cause 🙂

  11. Ready...Set...Get Fit

    Congrats. Amazing. Love your blog about it. My race will be in st.pete fl in October. Can’t wait. It’s a10k my longest race.

  12. what an amazing race!! And you have sucha huge smile on your face in all your pictures. I can only imagine the positive energy flowing throughout the whole day 🙂 what an inspiration

  13. Congrats! It is so hard to get your confidence back after an injury. Sounds like you had a great comeback race 😀

  14. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    What a great race and event! It looks like you had a great run – congratulations 🙂

  15. What an amazing event and race!! It must have been extra fun to have Trav there too 🙂

  16. Pingback: breast cancer research journals

  17. Umm you haven’t run 3 miles in a while, let alone a 5K and your time is WAY better than my average 5K time!! GREAT JOB!

  18. Congrats on a great race! I’m with Brittany-you are speedy!

  19. This was your first race?? You did AWESOME! You look like a pro out there! I have never been to a susan komen event, but it looks like you had a big crowd 🙂 You should be very proud of yourself!!

Leave a Reply

