Running and Reading Ultramarathon Long

Oh my goodness.  Have you ever read Ultramarathon Man by Dean Karnazes? If not, stop reading this post, head to the library, amazon.com, your kindle, etc. and get this book.  Start reading and don’t stop until it’s finished.

That’s basically what I did. I started reading it Monday night and in less than 24 hours, I was done.  It was THAT good. And I am so glad that I was introduced to the book through Running and Reading Long

Here are this week’s prompting questions:

1.  An overall recap of your training from the beginning of the plan.  What workouts have been hard, what days are you finding it hard to put on your running shoes, and what are you finding easy to incorporate into your training? As you may have realized, running training has been pretty non-existent.  The most I have run I think is 2 miles. Hips are still hurting, so it’s elliptical, biking and swimming for me!

2.  What is going well? This week I have been super motivated—pretty pumped about that Smile

3.  What isn’t going to so well? Weekends! I need them to go away…they totally ruin my groove!

4.  What is your BIG goal (we talked a little about this during the chat this week), but summarize it for everyone and maybe even outline a plan! My big goal is to lose a few pounds, determine if that’s the cause of my hip pain, and get into a habit when it comes to eating and exercising.

5.  What is your “culminating” event that will motivate you to push through the second half of the training program (a race, a certain distance, a pant size?) Wellll I signed up for a triathlon in September! That’s my new motivation!  And my training is starting to reflect it.  I know my training isn’t totally running focused, but I’m doing what I can under the circumstances.

And now, focusing on the book:

Dean runs ultramarathons.  In fact, he has even run an entire 199 mile race (think Ragnar) by HIMSELF.  Over 2 days, with only a minute of sleeprunning.  Some may call him crazy, I call him inspiring. He didn’t give up his day job, he didn’t take time away from his family.  He simply trained through the night while the world was asleep.  Yes, that’s crazy.  But he did it to help other people.  And he did it to help himself.  His younger sister died while he was young, and he found a renewed love for running. He started running for others when he was inspired by a young girl who was awaiting an organ transplant.  Right after he ran a race for her, she got the new organ and life turned around.

He is an adventure seeker.  He ran a marathon to the South Pole.  Seriously, this guy tries to defy the laws of humanity and nature.  And he does a pretty good job.  He succeeds when all odds are against him.  So amazing. He is ultra in every sense of the word.

Something that I want is to live an ultra life.  To live the life that I dream about.  To raise a family and to help others.  To grow a garden and to stay active.  That is my goal. To be ultra.  I feel that everyone has their own “ultra” when they search for it.

What makes YOU ultra?

And while you’re at it, check out Dean’s Ultramarathonman website! Seriously, just read the “About” section.  You will be AMAZED.  Oh ya, and check out these videos.  Basically, I am Justin Timberlake.

10 Comments

Filed under Book, Exercise, Goals, Life, Running, Running and Reading Long

10 responses to “Running and Reading Ultramarathon Long

  1. Chasing Fifty

    If you need any swimming tips for the triathlon, just let me know;)

  2. Aw that’s sad about his sister. It seems like running can totally help when you’re going through emotional stress, you know?

    Good luck on your training!

  3. Wow – I can’t believe what the human body can do sometimes. I can’t manage even a mile running and he’s almost hitting 200??

    That’s just incredible. I have no words.

  4. This is the second review I’ve read on this in the last 24 hours. It must be a sign that I need to read this!

  5. this book sounds awesome! might have to get itsoon. Also, i am SOOOO excited you signed up for a triathlon! they are a ton offun, and the environment and energy makes it amazing

  6. Wow, that’s incredible! Sounds like a great read!

  7. I want to run an ultra so bad! So I’m guessing you’d recommend the book? I had no idea you had signed up for a tri (or forgot..), I’m so excited for you!

  8. A triathlon, very exciting!! I am loving the book as well. I can’t wait to read his other books!

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    I love that book 🙂 And how exciting about the triathlon! Very cool.

  10. Way to go for all the cross-training and work you are doing while you heal. I am with you! You always have such great things to say–thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

