Cycle for Life

Hello there!!! How was your weekend? Mine was pretty party-filled, but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow for a recap…ohhhh, the suspense!

Today, I have a favor to ask of you. 

Last September, you may remember, Travis and I joined a few others in Erie, PA for a 65 mile bike ride to raise money and awareness for cystic fibrosis.  And we’re doing it again this year!

IMG_2437

This year, though, I am in it to win it and am trying to raise as much money as possible for the cause. I’m trying to obliterate the amount of money I raised  for last year’s Aptalis CF Cycle for Life

Cystic fibrosis has become a fundraising priority of mine over the last five years.  A friend of mine has CF, and I try to raise as much money and volunteer as much of my time as possible to help the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  I am actually volunteering this coming weekend at a huge party and music festival in Pittsburgh this weekend.  Pretty pumped!

IMG_2435

If you don’t know what cystic fibrosis is, it’s an inherited disease that affects the lungs and digestive system.  It causes the body to build up mucus that clogs the lungs and obstructs the pancreas.  The mucus is thick and can lead to lung infections, shortness of breath, and poor growth and weight gain.  Currently, there is not a cure, but new medicines and treatments are being researched at all times! To learn more about CF, head to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation website.

That’s where you come in to play.  Any money that can be raised for the cause would be greatly appreciated.  Even a few dollars can mean a lot of a difference!

If you are interested in donating to my fundraising cause, please head on over to my fundraising page using this link.  It would mean a lot to me if you could donate even a few dollars as well as spread the word to those you know! Every little bit helps, and I will be forever grateful Smile .

Now I’m going to leave you with CFF’s motto: Trying to make CF stand for “Cure Found”!

Thanks a million!

9 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Goals, Life

9 responses to “Cycle for Life

  1. Good for you to do a charity event – those always seem the most satisfying to me. I do a 5K every Sept for a special needs school my youngest brother goes to. It’s great when you can do something healthy for yourself and it’s for a good cause.

  2. how awesome is this ! this year I definitely want to start doing more races where the money actually GOES to a cause, instead of just the set up for a race.

  3. What a great cause to raise money for! I’ve never known anyone personally affected by this disease but I can only imagine what they go through on a daily basis.

  4. That’s an awesome charity event! I want to get involved in a foundation like that, but haven’t found the right one yet. You’re awesome!

  5. That looks like so much fun! Why are you so awesome!

  6. YES!! This is awesome!! You are going to kick ass!

  7. I know someone with CF too. It’s pretty awful. You rock that race!!!

  8. My cousin has CF. God bless you for doing this to help!

  9. Very cool AND a great cause to support. I will check out your fundraising page this week. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

