Jam on Walnut

First of all, I am pumped to know that so many of you have obsessions as well and I am not the only one that gets overwhelmingly in love with things. 

Now, a weekend recap.  On Friday, I got up, went to let one set of dogs I am watching, and then heading to babysit.  Because I was ridiculously hot out, I took the girls to the movies.  We saw Brave, and I am so glad we did! A few of you had mentioned how much you loved it, and I thought it was insanely adorable.  I am actually quite jealous of Merida’s hair.  And I was in love with the triplets.  If you enjoy Disney Pixar movies, you must see this!

After the movie, I dropped the girls off, hopped in the car, and drove home to Pittsburgh.  On Friday night, I spent time watching the Olympics with my mama.  On Saturday, I went to the pool that I used to workout to get in a swim.  I almost didn’t because the skies didn’t look so great, but I am super glad I did.  I only swam 1800 yards, but I got to see some of my favorite past co-workers.  And I did swim 1000 straight which is definitely good for my triathlon training!

IMG_0359

After the swim, I went to visit my grandma and uncle, and then went home to get ready for the Jam on Walnut.  The Jam on Walnut is a street fair with music and beer than happens once a month throughout the summer.  It is hosted by Miller and the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  The proceeds from tips go to the CFF, and this was my second year volunteering for the event.

IMG_0365

It was awesome.  Not only did I get free beer all night (which really isn’t my favorite, but I kind of enjoy Leinenkugal Sunset Wheat), but I also got to hang with my best friends, meet new people, and raise money for a good cause. 

IMG_0363

IMG_0366

That was most of our volunteering table.  My friend Tim is the goofy one in the back.  The others were new friends, and they definitely made the night enjoyable Smile.  Some of them sold wrist bands for the events, some poured beers from the taps, and others (like me) took orders and made change.

IMG_0370

A view from our booth! Things got much more crowded as the night wore on.

Yesterday, I woke up early and drove the 2.5 hours back to school to start and finish a project and animal sit.  Not only am I keeping an eye on 3 dogs and a cat that I was looking after last week, but I am now house-sitting and dog sitting 2 more doggies.  And then there’s Geno, too! I am currently in charge of 7 animals, and I couldn’t be happier Smile.

That’s it for my weekend, though.  How was your weekend?

P.S. I am over 500 dollars into my fundraising.  Half way! Smile Feel free to help me out!

22 Comments

Filed under Family, Friends, Life, Swimming, Training, Traveling

22 responses to “Jam on Walnut

  1. I totally forgot about JOW this weekend – boo!

  2. It looks like you had a great weekend! My hubby played in Hoopfest all weekend which is the world’s largest 3 on 3 street basketball tournament. They take over downtown Spokane and block off all the streets- it is crazy and a lot of fun. This year 7,064 teams played.

  3. Aw that’s an awesome way to spend the weekend!!! 🙂 And all for a good cause!

    I spent my weekend in the car (or specifically the passengers seat of a Uhaul hahaha) but that’s ok!

  4. That sounds like so much fun. I love babysitting too. 🙂 I bet the kids love you.

    Nothing too exciting for me…just making those dollers.

  5. I’m crazy obsessed with the olympics. I watched the trials all weekend too. The swimming was pretty amazing.

  6. This looks like a blast!! What a great event. I want to see Brave sososo bad!

  7. I am also animal sitting! :). What a fun weekend! :).

  8. My weekend was spent at work 😦 but it went ok. I want to take Andrew to see brave, do you think he would like it? I didn’t know if it would be more a girl film. It seems like you had a great fun weekend!! good luck with all the pets, I could barely take care of my parents dog and cat haha

  9. What an awesome weekend! I’m glad you enjoyed Brave, because I loved it. I love how committed you are, you’re such a great example to people like me who wish they could do more! I’m definitely going to try and find something I want to volunteer for regularly now. 🙂

    • I don’t think I would be so committed if it didn’t really mean something to me! Because Tim has CF himself, it makes me really want to do something to help him. Find something that you’re passionate about — it will make it so much more worth it!

  10. It’s going to be like a zoo for you this week with all those animals to take care of. The event over the weekend sounds like it was a lot of fun to volunteer at.

  11. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    I love the name Jam on Walnut – really cute 🙂 And congratulations on your fundraising, that is a super effort! Sounds like a great weekend all up really!

  12. What a great weekend you had! I still haven’t had a chance to take the girls to see Brave, but I will after your review. 🙂

  13. TeeAre

    I am disappointed nobody pointed out how cute I am.

Leave a Reply

