WIAW–Busy Summer Day

Happy Independence Day!!!  And What I Ate Wednesday, too!!

Yesterday was the first time I lifeguarded in approximately 3 summers.  And because of lifeguarding, I had a long day.  I woke up around 7, let the dogs out, headed to work at the computer center until 11:45, and then lifeguarded from 12 – 5.  Nothing like a nine hour work day in the summer!

Days like this require me to pack all of my food for the day.  Here’s what I packed and ate!

IMG_0385

IMG_0386

Morning coffee and Corn Flakes for breakfast!

IMG_0387

Flax spiral pasta with some Italian dressing, black olives, and a sprinkling of cheese!  Followed by a pack of tuna!

IMG_0392

IMG_0389

Lifeguard time!

IMG_0251IMG_0390

Afternoon snacks: fruit strip and a Luna fiber bar!

IMG_0393

I was super tired after guarding and figured the easiest dinner was a Giant grocery store salad bar salad with every veggie, a little cheese, some chicken, and sunflower seeds on top. 

IMG_0391IMG_0394

Evening snacks of an apple and honey roasted peanuts! YUM!

That’s all she wrote, folks! To check out what other people have been nomming on lately, head over to Jenn’s blog. Her weekly What I Ate Wednesday party is such a hit, and I lovely seeing what some other bloggers create in the kitchen!

Now, it’s time for me to celebrate the holiday with Travis.  Nothing really planned, and I am totally ok with that!

Have any special holiday plans?

12 Comments

Filed under Food, WIAW

12 responses to “WIAW–Busy Summer Day

  1. Sometimes I’m a fan of the supermarket salad bars, too!

  2. Salad looks amazing! 🙂 Have a great Fourth!! 🙂

  3. I love the salad bar at Giant; perfect when I’m in a time crunch!

    Do you like the Luna fiber bars? I’ve heard good things, so I’m thinking of picking them up! I hate buying bars if I’m not 100% confident I’ll like them because otherwise they’ll just sit, un-eaten!

  4. Looks like an awesome day!! Have a happy fourth of july 🙂

  5. choc3178

    Loving that pasta! Also…where are you finding the luna fiber bars? I live in jersey and can’t find them anywhere! Happy 4th!

  6. ahhh I am right there with you working 9+ hour days. do you have a vacation ahead to look forward to?!
    YUMMY eats!
    I hope you have a wonderful 4th!
    xoxo!

  7. i am a huge fan of chunk light tuna in the package, so good. happy fourth!

  8. My plans for today including reading and relaxing. Hope that you find something fun to do 🙂

  9. Your meals and snacks are PERFECT! They all look sooo good. Gotta love long days!

  10. Happy 4th of July! I’m doing absolutely nothing. 🙂

  11. Yum! Lots of good eats going on here. I love your work ethic… you’re always working! For the holiday my family is having a cookout with fish that we caught in the ocean 😀

  12. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    Happy 4th of July, and a low key evening to finish it off sounds just great! Good foods here too 🙂

Leave a Reply

