4th of July Recap

Yesterday was pretty much the perfect way to spend a holiday.

It started with an early wake-up, followed by getting back into bed for an extra hour or two of sleep.  Breakfast was perfectly made omelets by yours truly.  Travis even said they looked good.  I am so proud of myself! haha Too bad I didn’t photograph.

Next up was a 15 mile bike ride around the Shippensburg area with Travis.  It was a great ride, and although I didn’t feel like starting at the beginning, I am so glad we went!

IMG_0398

Following the ride, we headed to let out and play with some dogs and cats then hit up Target and the grocery store.  Say hi to Cleo! She’s a cutie!

IMG_0399

We came back and started making a wonderful dinner.

IMG_0400

Salad topped with fresh salsa, slider burgers, corn on the cob, and some chips and salsa! The chips are a kind I hadn’t had before, and they were amazing!

IMG_0402

We then watched Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  I absolutely loved the movie, and I really recommend it if you haven’t seen it yet.

And followed it up with some banana soft serve! With frozen berries and some peanut butter.  Perfecto.

IMG_0405

Don’t mind my Dr. Pepper stash.  It’s my weakness.

We finished up the night with fireworks from the field by my house.  Shippensburg doesn’t put on the BEST display, but I like that we were far enough away that they weren’t too loud (I am scared of loud things) but you could still see them pretty well.

IMG_0432

A nice, relaxing but still kind of productive day.  And I got to spend it with my favorite person Smile

How did you spend your holiday?

12 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Exercise, Life

12 responses to “4th of July Recap

  1. Yummy that soft serve looks great. Glad you had a good holiday!

  2. Sounds like a great 4th! I didn’t get to squeeze a workout in but I am going to try today 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a fabulous day. Your dinner and ice cream both look really yummy. I wanted to go and get fro yo last night, but the husband didn’t want to go. I had to settle for a skinny cow ice cream bar.

  4. healthcraved

    looks like a great holiday! kudos to you for fitting in a solid bike ride in there

  5. I couldn’t stop laughing at his shirt! I love it! Your banana soft-serve looks so good!

  6. Looks like a fun day! I spent my 4th hanging out with my husband since he had the day off work!

  7. kristen @ livinlifeinlouie

    sounds like a great day!The banana soft serve looks awesome!

  8. All your eats look so tasty. We did a little bbqing, nothing fancy just hangin’ out with family.

  9. Woo, it looks like an awesome 4th! Your dinner looks great. I watched Independence Day with my mom. 🙂

  10. Very nice – and your camera did a better job with the fireworks than mine! 🙂 How was the weather? I never would have been able to bike even a mile… way too hot and humid.

  11. I am in love with Diet Dr. Peppers-they are my weakness too! That looks like such an awesome day-I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

