Clip Shoe Fail

Yesterday, Travis and I started the transition to being serious cyclers.  He took off our old pedals and, after much attempt, got our new clip pedals on.

After about 2 seconds, he was used to the new shoes and pedals and was ready to roll.

IMG_0447

After about 45 minutes, I was in tears, with a greased stained leg, and still unable to use my new biking additions.

IMG_0448

Today, I am busting out the bike trainer and getting serious about learning to use the new pedals.

Any suggestions on how to make the transition and feel as though I am not falling off at all times??  I know I reached out to facebook and twitter, but  I want to get this down to science before my bike rides coming up!

19 Comments

Filed under Cycling

19 responses to “Clip Shoe Fail

  1. Very very cool that you guys are going to jump into cycling! Bless your heart, I would have probably been frustrated too! If I don’t catch on to something quickly, it makes me mad!
    Have a great weekend!!

  2. I have a HUGE fear for clip shoes. If you learn any tips, I would LOVE to hear them haha

  3. Steve davis

    When I first switched to clip less pedals, I clipped in and out 100 times with each foot before I set out on the road for my initial ride. I wanted to ingrained the memory of what it takes to get in and out of the pedals. That seemed to help a lot. Also, take your first few rides in low threat areas so you don’t have to unclip unexpectedly.

  4. Practice practice practice! Good luck on the transition. PS, one day I kept wiping out because of a change in tires, then went to the gym to run.. Came back and realized bike grease was up and down both legs. Lolz.

  5. for me, it just took time. don’t worry soon enough you will think how the hell didn’t I have these before. You got this!

  6. Definitely practice practice practice! I am fine w/ mine for road biking, but mt. biking still makes me nervous. I also, for whatever reason, find it really hard to clip out on a trainer. You will love the ability to pull up AND push down. So much power!

  7. oh my goodness, the clips are a huge transition. I agree with the comments above, practice helps! Find an empty parking lot and just cruse around, clipping in and out a lot. They are worth it, I promise!
    (although, even experienced riders will crash and burn, so don’t get too down on yourself!)

  8. Aww I hope these work for you!! I have yet to use real bike shoes/clips when cycling.

  9. I clip in/out at spin class but have never been on a road bike! Not sure if it’s the same thing at all, or even remotely close, but it definitely took a bit of practice to get used to how it worked!

  10. I’ve always had that problem with bikes too! I end up coming back with black marks all over my legs 😉

  11. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    Oh dear. I suspect I’d be the same actually. My coordination levels may not pair well with clips! It sounds like some of the other comments have been more helpful though, so hopefully you’ll get the hang of it soon!

  12. healthcraved

    I’ve only tried clipless pedals once on a friend’s bike and it was an epic fail. I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it! please share any tips once you figure it out!

  13. Oh no-sorry to hear it wasn’t that great. I don’t bike because I am as coordinated as…well nothing because I’m not coordinated.

  14. aw i totally have had many clip shoe fails..the best is when it is right in front of a car on the side of the road lol… but yah to get better i started clipping in one side for like an hour and then went to both and then started to just take a circle in and out of my driveway clipping in and unclipping… it took time but now they’re the best things ever!

Leave a Reply

