Motivated Monday Morning

This may be crazy, but this morning, Travis, his bro, and I woke up at 6:30 and went for a run.  We’re all doing the Bethany Beach triathlon/duathlon in September, and this morning we went for 3 miles around the block.

It was really nice to be done working out by 7:15! And it’s saying a lot because yesterday was one of the most trying workouts of my life.  I was so proud of myself for getting back at it today.  After about 3 miles of a bike ride yesterday morning, I was short of breath, really far behind Travis, and frustrated beyond belief.  Another mile later, while staring at the hill that was quickly approaching, I broke down and started crying.  4 miles into a ride, and I was exhausted mentally and physically.  We stood in a random yard for a few minutes before I calmed down.  I told myself I was doing 10 miles, and that’s exactly what we did.  I pushed myself through and am glad that I did, as hard as it was.

It really brought me back to my swimming days. Swimming six days a week can be exhausting, and it really made me remember those days that I would have goggles filled with tears and a mind that was discouraging me to the point where I wanted to quit that practice.  But I always kept swimming, and eventually the practice would end.  There is always a light at the end of the tunnel.

And as a reward, I bought myself a new cycling jersey today.  It was on sale at Dick’s.  And it’s so colorful I love it.

I also was happy to get a nice breakfast at Bob Evan’s.

924109d6c9d611e1a8761231381b4856_7

2 scrambled eggs, turkey sausage, strawberry yogurt, and one of two biscuits.  It was yummy and great postrun fuel!

Now, time for a little Modern Family before driving back to Shippensburg to work for a bit tonight!

Happy Monday! Smile

14 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Exercise, Food, Running

14 responses to “Motivated Monday Morning

  1. That’s so awesome that you kept going & fought through your frustration! And I love your reward to yourself; very cute!

  2. great way to end the night, modern family always puts me in the best mood.

  3. You are awesome. Way to wake it up girl and get those miles in. Since I’ve started doing that, I can’t sleep in and now feel a lot better (granted it’s also 1 million degrees past 8) during my runs if I get in early.

  4. Good for you for finishing up the ride! You can do it!

  5. Happy Monday! So proud for you! It is so hard to want to give up and yet keep going. Good for you! Awesome bike shirt!

  6. I’m so proud of you for finishing it! The hardest workouts are the ones we remember and make us stronger. Just imagine all of the people you are motivating.

  7. you’re awesome! that breakfast looks pretty awesome as well.

  8. Ugh I get this feeling now and then when I am running. Yesterday was the first time I ran in temps above 80. It never gets hot where I live, so running outside is never an issue. I ran 5miles and it was slow and hot the entire run. I couldn’t breath, I felt the tears in my eyes, but pushed to finish. Way to go. We deserve ice cream.

  9. ittybitsofbalance

    That’s such an accomplishment to get right back on the saddle after an overwhelming workout like that! I know that for me personally when I feel physically challenged, it is SO much more likely for me to feel emotionally challenged as well. But you overcame it! You should be so proud of yourself, Nikki 🙂

  10. good for you getting up so early to get that workout in!

  11. healthcraved

    man, I can’t count how many times my goggles filled up with tears at a grueling practice. that feeling of pushing through makes you feel unstoppable. so inspiring to know that still happens in “life after swimming” 🙂

  12. Great job pushing yourself girl! It’s so easy to just get down on yourself and give up, which I think ultimately leads to more giving up in the end. So, it’s so great that you just sucked it up and did it, no matter how hard it was! That shows true mental strength. You’re awesome! 🙂

  13. Sorry about the rough workout but that’s so admirable that you pushed yourself and kept on going.

Leave a Reply

