Easy Egg Muffins

This summer has basically consisted of Travis or I driving to the other one’s house to spend as much time together as possible.  All of my friends have graduated and left Shippensburg, including Travis, so that leaves me pretty lonely most of the time. Luckily for me, Travis spent the past week with me, and I drove to his house Sunday afternoon to spend a day there.  I got back to school yesterday afternoon, just in time to work from 4-9 at the rec center on campus.  While working, I got a call saying he was coming with his brother and a friend to spend the night in Ship! YAY for having friends!!

But let me back up.  Before I left for work, I started meal planning in my head.  I know that I am leaving for vacation to Assateague Island on Thursday and have to pretty much clean out my fridge as I will be gone for 11 days.  The only things I had left were some frozen meats and meals (which will be good while I’m away), eggs, salsa, and some individual apple sauces. 

That’s when I decided to make some egg muffins.  Whether I eat them all or not, they can easily be frozen until I finish them all.  And, they were so simple.  I popped them in the oven while I unpacked from my mini-trip, and when I was done, so were they!

The nice thing is that they are really easily adaptable.  I made mine with 5 eggs, Greek spices I had in the cupboard, frozen spinach, and some salsa.  You could easily add bacon, sausage, cheese, etc.

IMG_0464

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Next, crack the eggs and add all of the mix-ins.  Spray a muffin tin and pour in the mixture until the tins are about 2/3 of the way full.  My five eggs made 6 muffins.  Last step, pop the pan into the oven for 20-25 minutes and the muffins are good! Easy, delicious muffins that can be refrigerated or frozen until they are all eaten!

They also are a good source of protein, and I can totally see them working as pre-workout fuel!  I can use some fuel today! The four of us are going on a bike ride today.  And I have a lot of working to do. 

Happy Tuesday!!! I am counting down the hours until BEACH TIME!

Off to ride….hoping the shoes and pedals treat me well again Smile

Do you have any quick and easy go to breakfasts?

13 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Food, Recipes

13 responses to “Easy Egg Muffins

  1. I love making these – I call them crustless quiches, but egg muffins are way simpler. πŸ™‚

  2. I love this idea. These would be perfect during the school year, when I’m always rushing to get out the door.

  3. Oh my stars do they look good! Greek spices and eggs are my favorite!
    There is a restaurant close to me that serves greek omeletes and I’m always in heaven ordering there.

  4. healthcraved

    thanks for the recipe! I definitely need to make this, especially since you can store the leftovers. such a good idea–I’ll be trying out soon

  5. i keep saying i am going to make these but haven’t yet, you motivated me to get cooking!

  6. I always love to try new recipes and this looks great. πŸ™‚

  7. Oh these looks so good! Must try ASAP.

  8. thos look delicious!! I wonder if Andrew would eat them….. favorite easy breakfast- sandwich thin, pb, banana. Done! haha

  9. Those look great! Are you at the point where you’re counting down the hours until vacation starts? πŸ™‚

  10. What a neat recipe! I love it! Def. going to try this soon. Hope you enjoy your vacay!! πŸ˜€

  11. Those look great! I’ve been looking for some new fast breakfasts! I’ve also been adding eggs back in my diet and doing okay with it. They keep me full for so long! I found an oatmeal “cookie” breakfast I’m going to try and if it’s good, I’ll post it!

  12. Yum!! These look amazing! πŸ™‚ I love new ways to cook eggs and this is a great way. Hope your ride was great!

  13. Those look awesome. I’ve made some that are similar and they are always a huge hit at brunches!!! People are enamored and really they’re pretty deceptively easy. LOVE IT.

Leave a Reply

