Running and Reading Long — The Long Run

After a break for the holiday week last week, Running and Reading Long is back as planned! This week, the program is focused on The Long Run by Matt Long.

Oh my goodness gracious. I know I rant about every book that we read for this program (especially the last one), but this book is amazing in every way as well.  The Long Run is focused on Matt’s story.  A New York City fireman.  Triathlete. Ironman.  Marathon runner.  All around inspiring.  During the subway strike in NYC, he was biking to work and was hit AND run over by a bus.  And he survived.  I’m not going to spoil the book because you have to read it, but seriously, talk about perseverance! His story is incredible.  I highly recommend it.

This week, we are to focus on a time in our life that turned everything upside down and changed who we are.  It’s nothing too major, but definitely changed me and made me who I am today.  The thing I am going to talk about is when I decided to move 2.5 hours away from home to go to college.  I moved to a town in which I knew no one.  I knew I would be swimming, but I didn’t know if I would get along with the coach or my fellow teammates.  Within the first few days, I was dragged to a swim party in which I was awkward, didn’t drink, and barely socialized.  I totally felt out of place, and I didn’t do much else with the team.  I cried in my room while eating an entire bag of peanut butter M&Ms that my best friend’s mom had given me.  I ate the entire large bag in a day. Granted, they were delicious, but totally unnecessary.  It wasn’t until I met Anna, my roommate of 3 years, who also introduced me to Travis and his friends about 2 weeks into school that I started to feel comfortable.   And once I felt comfortable being myself around these people, I really started to enjoy myself.  I found my small place on the team, met great people, and have been friends with them since.  That was five years ago.  In a month, I will be starting my SIXTH year of school at Shippensburg.  This place that was so scary and unwelcoming to me has become so much like home.  I know the alleys and where they lead.  I am not afraid of meeting new people.  I wouldn’t have found my niche in life without taking a risk, and I am so glad that I did!

Everything about Matt’s story was inspiring.  Even his life before the crash was amazing.  He has three bars in the city and worked as a fireman during 9/11.  He qualified for the Boston marathon.  And he made a comeback from an injury that left him with less than a five percent chance of survival.  Seriously, this man is incredible.  And this book just goes to show that.  Coming back from any sort of injury is hard, but coming back from an injury in which you could practice see through from the front to back of your body makes my shin splints and sore hips feel like a little bump.

As a little recap – my training this week has been going well.  I got a run in on Monday, a bike ride Tuesday, and a swim and run Wednesday! Woot woot! Now I just have to keep the motivation up while on vacation!  Triathlon training is in full swing!

Join the twit chat tonight using #runreadlong.  I am leaving any minute now for Assateague Island, but hopefully I can try and catch some of the chat tonight at 9 EST!

Happy Thursday! Vacation here I come! Smile

16 Comments

Filed under Book, Running and Reading Long

16 responses to “Running and Reading Long — The Long Run

  1. Wow, that does sound inspiring!!! Sure does put things into perspective! Oh, I love Chincoteague/Assateague Island! We used to go there on family vacations growing up, and I def. miss it. Have a great time!!!!

  2. That does sound like a great book! 🙂 Have a great vacation!!

  3. Pingback: Running and Reading Matt Long | Life After Swimming

  4. It’s great to hear about good, inspiring books! A big Woo-hoo on the awesome tri-training too. You go girl!

  5. Sounds like an interesting book! Enjoy your vacation- can’t wait to read all about it!

  6. I heard about his story! I am going to have to read that book…i am such a sucker for comeback stories!! Have a great trip!!

  7. Jen

    This is one of my favorite all time books. It was so honest and open. I really appreciated that and it made me think about how I define myself and what I would do if I couldn’t run again. I read it while injured so it made me rethink my own pity party as well. Such a great book!

  8. I read an excerpt from this book in runners world. I definitely need to pick it up so I can read the whole thing!!

  9. I must look for this book for manfriend..he loves reading these running books. Thanks for sharing!

  10. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    Sometimes those stories of inspiration really do have such an impact on our own lives and perspectives. This sounds like a wonderful book.

  11. Wow that book just oozes inspiration. I am getting it..perfect for reading at the Cav!

  12. Way to go on your training! Keep up the good work!

  13. Glad you find the book so motivational! It sounds like you’re doing great w/ training: keep it up!

  14. Glad you are taking a vacation! Enjoy!

  15. Pingback: Running and Reading Matt Long | Life After Swimming

Leave a Reply

