Guest Post: Running Etiquette by Lora

Greetings from Assateague! My favorite vacation getaway! While I’m away, I have a series of guest posts set up for you, and I hope you enjoy the awesome blogging ladies I have met as much as I do!

First up is Lora! She’s an inspiration – she ran even right after getting her wisdom teeth out! Check out her blog, she’s awesome!


Hi guys! I’m Lora and I blog over at Crazy Running Girl where I talk about running, healthy eating and everyday adventures living in New York City.

clip_image001

I am training for my first Ragnar Relay and also my ninth marathon this November, and in the midst of that planning my wedding in Jamaica. Anyways, I “met” Nikki a few months ago when I was her Foodie Penpal! I love reading her blog and am so honored to be a guest poster!

One of the things that I love most about running is it’s a sport that anyone can do! All you need are some running shoes, shirt and shorts (well, and sports bra for us girls!) and you are ready to hit the road. You don’t need any equipment; you don’t need a gym membership. You just have to do it and you are part of the community! With this in mind, I thought I’d share some running etiquette tips – both for new and experienced runners – which I’ve learned over the years:

· Stay steady: I don’t know about you guys, but when I get tired towards the end of a long run, I’m a mess. I’m cranky and probably giving everyone that passes me the stank eye. I also tend to want to drift to the other side of the path, but it’s important to remember that there are other people behind you who may be trying to get by. Keep it as straight as possible (or at least stay to one side of the path) to make it easier for others to pass you.

· Let others know if you are passing: My rule of thumb is that I’m responsible for moving around people who are in front of me and if I’m in front of someone, they are responsible for moving around me (with tip 1 in mind). Because of this, I think it’s helpful to let other runners know if you are passing – particularly if you are running on a busy path. A simple “on your left” or “runner” is all you need to give fair warning.

· Run for yourself: As humans, competition is in our blood, what can I say. But, don’t try to make your run into a competition. Everyone runs for different reasons and there’s nothing worse than moving past someone only to have them battle with you for the remainder of your run because they can’t stand the fact that you passed them. You know what? Some of us are faster, some of us are slower but it doesn’t matter – we are all runners. If you get passed, it doesn’t mean you are a bad runner! It just means that someone is working out at a different pace than you. Bart Yasso really said it best: “I often hear someone say I’m not a real runner. We are all runners, some just run faster than others. I never met a fake runner.”

· Be respectful: With that in mind, I think it’s also important to be respectful of other runners – both on and off the road. I get so annoyed when I hear people degrade other runners because they are slower or not as competitive. I can’t say it enough – we are all runners. We are all out on the roads, pounding the pavement because it’s what we love. The running community is amazing and so supportive, and I think it should stay that way. Whether you are running to lose weight, stay in shape, beat a PR or just to find new friends, kudos to you!

And to close out, I just want to leave you with this quote – I think it sums up everything you need to know about running etiquette:

“Running is not, as it so often seems, only about what you did in your last race or about how many miles you ran last week. It is, in a much more important way, about community, about appreciating all the miles run by other runners, too.”
— Richard O’Brien

Do you have any etiquette tips for runners? What is your favorite thing about running?

5 Comments

Filed under Guest Post

5 responses to “Guest Post: Running Etiquette by Lora

  1. Great post! I have never ran a race, mainly because it would just be sooo crowded and I would just be a hot mess! These are great tips! Even if you are just running alone. 🙂 Have a great day Lora!

  2. I agree and I like the second one. I think that you are responsible for keeping out of peoples way (to a degree). I hate the people that legit just want to run you over because those 2 seconds to go around are going to ruin their run.

  3. These are great tips!! 🙂 I love the guest post 🙂

    Have a great vacation, my dear!

  4. Great tips! Thanks for sharing them.

  5. this is such a great guest post, I wish all runners could read this!

Leave a Reply

