Guest Post: Finding Your Happy Place by Steph

Happy Monday, everyone!!  Hope you all had a great weekend! Being as I am at the beach on my happy island, of course I had a great time.  A weekend with your family on an island with sand, sun, and waves.  Perfection.  Plus, I’m still here for the rest of the week. Woot woot!

Well, without further delay, here’s another guest post for ya! Today’s post comes from one of my favorite bloggers, Steph.  I started following Steph’s blog when I first started blogging almost a year ago, and I am so glad I did! Her blog is awesome, honest, and full of fun eats and adventures! Check her out!


Hi, everyone! My name is Steph and I blog over at www.StephSnacks.comwhich based on healthy living, exercise, and socializing in the big city of New York. I started writing my blog a little over a year ago and shortly after found ‘Life After Swimming’ –I’ve been hooked ever since!

StephSnacks1

While Nikki is away on vacation (let’s all admit how jealous we are) I wanted to write about how I’ve finally found my ‘happy place’ in the blog world. Prior to beginning StephSnacks, I had already been reading a ton of other healthy-living blogs, and realized how much dedication it took. When I first started writing my blog, I posted as much as I could and loved when people would comment and email me questions and/or asking for advice (which I still love!).

However, I started putting a lot of pressure on myself to be consistent with my posts and to create as many recipes, workouts, and restaurant reviews as possible. On top of that, I started to feel as if every other healthy living blogger was getting her Personal Training certificate and/or Health Coaching degree. While I’ve seriously considered both personal training and health coaching, I had to take a step back and try to understand if this was something I wanted to do for ME or if it was something I wanted to do because I saw so many other bloggers doing it.

StephSnacks2

Don’t get me wrong, I admire all of the bloggers I follow. I do follow them for a reason, after all. But sometimes, I have to remind myself that I write StephSnacks to help others. There was a time in my life when I struggled with an eating disorder as well as over-exercising. StephSnacks is a way for me to write about how I keep up my social life in New York City while still staying fit and eating right (I talk about my cheats and treats too, trust me!).

Every now and then I will post a workout or a healthy recipe, but I’ve concluded that StephSnacks is best received when I write openly and honestly about my struggles and how I deal with them. Not all blogs are the same and not everyone’s struggles are the same–and I’m totally okay with that 🙂

I hope you’ll visit me over at StephSnacks–and send me an email at anytime at StephSnacks@gmail.com. Thanks, Nikki, for letting me write in your wonderful space!

Have you found your happy place? What do you to to make sure you remain true to yourself?

4 Comments

Filed under Guest Post

4 responses to “Guest Post: Finding Your Happy Place by Steph

  1. I love this post! I couldn’t agree more with those insecurities so it is nice to hear that being yourself is really all that blogging is about!

  2. great post! and steph is definitely right! You can’t compare yourself to others. one blog is not like another 🙂

  3. Great guest post!!! I’ve definitely found myself feeling “pressured” by other bloggers, but I have to remind myself that what’s right for them isn’t necessarily right for me! We’re all different, and as long as I keep that in mind, I feel like blogging is a super positive experience for me 🙂 It’s definitely given me a lot of confidence and pushed me out of my comfort zone!

Leave a Reply

