Guest Post: Carnival Theme by Dominique

Oh man, can you believe it’s Friday already? That means that tomorrow is my last day at the beach Sad smile.  Oh well, it also means that in one week, I’ll be en route to San Diego.  You win some, you lose some!

This morning’s guest post comes from Dominique, another fellow Sweat Pink ambassador!  Her post is themed around one of my favorite books (and movies) Water for Elephants.  Seriously, it’s so amazing! And she followed it up with a fitting recipe—even better!  Hope you enjoy, and don’t forget to check out her blog!


Hi Life After Swimming Readers!  I’m Dominique, and I blog about my (mostly) vegan food adventures, with some running and life mixed in (proud ambassador for both FitFluential and SweatPink), over at CraftfullyCooks!

I spend a lot of time looking through any cookbook I can get my hands on, but sometimes, you need to settle in and indulge in a REALLY good book.  I thought that I would appeal to the Book Nook side of things over in this neck of the woods, and write about one of the best books I’ve read recently- WATER FOR ELEPHANTS!

I had this queued in my Goodreads list for awhile, and was holding off.  It wasn’t in my queue because the story appealed to me, but was there because pretty much everyone I knew recommended it, and had given it 5 stars.  It was one of those.  One of those you should read, but aren’t exactly sure why.  I mean, seriously…a book about the 1920s? A book that centers around the circus? Are you kidding me? I usually read serious chick-lit, and anything by Jodi Picoult or Kristin Hannah.  A book about elephants hardly fits that criteria.

So, one day at work (in my other life, I work as a physician assistant in a hospital- it’s either feast or famine there, and when it’s famine, I actually get some downtime to read and blog- but don’t tell anyone 😉 ), after I had finished whatever chick-lit I was reading that day, I decided to bite the bullet and just do it.  There must be something to Water for Elephants if everyone seems to be recommending it.  So, I downloaded it onto my Kindle, and got started (LOVE my Kindle by the way- highly recommend it!).

I read it in 3 days.  YES, 3 DAYS.  I couldn’t put it down.  And then, I couldn’t stop talking about it.  And then, I had to watch the movie… and thankfully, it was OnDemand!  Obviously not as good as the book (because the movie is NEVER as good as the book), BUT they did an awesome job- they stayed SUPER TRUE to the book, for the most part- there were a few changes, but they didn’t ruin anything.

And, I can’t believe I’m admitting this because I’m not usually a Robert Pattinson fan, but I actually really adored him in this movie.  I was concerned about him being up against Reese Witherspoon because she’s awesome, and because of their age difference, but they pulled it off!!! Although, I think it was mostly her, because she’s awesome.

I’m not going to give away the book, in case you haven’t read it yet, or haven’t seen the movie, but I’m going to mention a few things that left a lasting impression on me~

1. Whenever I read a story set in the past, I always get terribly sad at how oppressed everyone was.  I can’t imagine not being able to speak my mind, or work in the field I want, or pretty much DO whatever I want.  To be stuck in a situation without the ability to change it, I just can’t even fathom it.  But, I’m also overwhelmed with a respect for these characters, because most of the time, they still prevail in spite of their situations.  

2.  What goes around, comes around- Karma is a bi*ch.  I’m a sucker for a happy ending, and I LOVE that everyone gets what’s due, because there are some HORRIFIC scenes.  Ya know on Friends (YES, HUGE FRIENDS FANATIC), when Joey is reading the Shining and has to put the book in the freezer? I seriously considered doing just that!

Source

3.  Everything happens for a reason.  I totally believe this anyway, but I love a story that reinforces it.  Just when you think things can’t get worse, they turn around.  It might take awhile, and it might not be on in your timely manner, and worse stuff might happen first, but eventually, it always gets better.

Totally awesome.  Just go read it.  And, if they’re all like this, I guess I can step out of my reading box more often 😉

So, when all is said and done, I had to make some kind of carnival dessert.  I love sticking to a good theme.  And, I can never turn down any excuse for dessert.

I had been holding onto this Vegan Pizzelle Recipe for awhile, and decided it would be perfect for this kind of occasion.  I associate pizzelles with summertime, and parties, so I think a carnival qualifies. Carnival, summer… eh, it’s a stretch, but whatever 😉

The raw batter tasted awesomeeeee (and I didn’t feel bad eating it because it is raw-egg-free!).

But, it took me awhile to figure out the timing of the cookies- I kept being impatient and ended up with half-cooked pizzelles, or getting distracted and ending up with burnt ones.  So now, I’m on the hunt for a pizzelle maker with a timer- or at least a light that changes color.

But, even though they didn’t look so pretty….

….the flavor was there, and I eventually, ya know, for the last 3 or 4 batches, I figured it out 😉 Serve with some non-dairy ice cream (I used  SoDelicious Mint Chocolate for this particular endeavor)~ yummmmmmm 🙂

 
 
BIG thanks to Nikki for having me guest post!  Can’t wait to hear all about her vacation and Life After Swimming adventures when she gets back!  🙂
 
Feel free to come visit me over at CraftfullyCooks for some vegan eats, some running, and some ramblings, or say hi on Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, or Instagram 🙂   xoxox
 
What’s you favorite carnival treat? Smile 
2 Comments

Filed under Guest Post

2 responses to “Guest Post: Carnival Theme by Dominique

  1. I LOVED reading Water for Elephants!!!! Great book!!!

  2. Water for Elephants was an amazing book, and I think the movie was one of the few that actually did the book justice. (So often Hollywood hacks up a great book with a mediocre movie). I love pizzelles, and while I’ve never associated them with carnival food, I could see how their shape and taste lends them to be.
    BTW, if you want another excellent read with the carnival theme, check out The Night Circus. You won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

