Guest Post: Motivation by Sally

Good morning from San Diego! Can’t wait to tell you ALL about my trip when I get back.  Smile But until then, I have another wonderful guest post for you!

Today’s post comes from Sally, another one of the fabulous women part of the Sweat Pink ambassador program!  She has had great success on her weight loss journey and is here today to share some of her tips for motivation! Believe me, I  know I can definitely use them some days Smile. Thanks, Sally!!


When the opportunity arose to write a guest post for Nikki (a fellow Sweat Pink Ambassador), I had to jump at it. I absolutely love Life After Swimming and feel like I can relate to her a lot. 1. We’re both studying Special Education. 2. Although I’ve never been a competitive swimmer, my sister-in-law swam at the collegiate level (very well, I might add), so I definitely have a soft spot in my heart for swimmers… ESPECIALLY after hearing all of their training stories! And 3. We both LOVE books. I’m so grateful I get to share a little bit of my life with you!

Back in March, I made the decision to lose weight and get healthy. After doing a bit of research, I decided Weight Watchers would be the best plan for me. I had already tried Weight Watchers a couple times in high school and college, but it just never stuck. Looking back, I know it was because I had been doing it for the wrong reasons. Whether it was for a wedding or some other event, or the worst, the delusion that a boy would like me more, I just couldn’t stay motivated. I would always stop after about 15 pounds and say that the timing wasn’t right. This time, however, I decided to do this for myself. I made the commitment to my own health and my own future. I think that’s singlehandedly the best advice I can give someone who wants to lose weight. Sure, a special event is good to get motivated at first, but what happens after it’s over? And ladies, can’t we all agree that nothing good comes out of trying to change ourselves for guys? I know it was trying to win Warner back that got Elle to Harvard Law School, but it wasn’t until she realized how stupid he was that she started kicking butt to her full potential. (Yes… I DO watch Legally Blonde regularly for inspiration. I will not apologize for this!)

Here are a few tips that keep me motivated:

1. Have fun! – Find an activity you enjoy doing. I think it’s so important that we have fun while exercising. Working out should not be a punishment. I’ve discovered that I absolutely love exercising; I just had never approached it the right way. I love going to Jazzercise to dance and sweat with my friends for an hour. Making a fun, new play list every week keeps me motivated to run. I will admit, that sometimes I get in a bit of a rut and need to add new activity. To get me out of that rut, I’ve decided to try at least one new form of exercise every week. This week, I’m trying Aqua Zumba. Next week, I think I’m going to take advantage of the tennis courts at the park. Check out places in your community that offer classes. You might be surprised by how many offer a free class to try out. In addition to exercising, have fun with your food! I’m constantly looking for new, healthy recipes to try. The Internet is a great source for new recipes and tips to make old recipes healthy.

2. Set goals in addition to (or, instead of) the number on the scale. – When I first started WW, I was completely overwhelmed by how far I had to go to reach my goal. (The number is still a little daunting to me.) I was completely focused on how much I lost or gained every week and was quickly losing patience. I knew I was getting healthier, I could FEEL that I was getting healthier; I just had no exact way of showing it. So, I decided to start running. I found a plan similar to the Couch-2-5K plan and decided that I would run a 5k before my birthday. Whenever I added more running to my plan – even if it was just another minute – I felt like I had accomplished something big. Crossing the finish line of my first 5k (the day before my birthday) was amazing to me. (I was really confused why no one else was celebrating like they had just run a marathon). It showed that I could set a goal and stick to it. I also discovered that I love running! Go figure!

3. When you reach your goals, CELEBRATE! – Prior to beginning my journey, I would go to Jazzercise maybe twice a week. After almost every class, I decided I deserved a treat. Obviously, this lead to my hard work being completely cancelled out. Now, I try to reward myself with something unrelated to food. When I reached 10 pounds, I got a pedicure. At 20, I bought a new pair of running shorts. I haven’t decided what I’m going to do for 30, but I only have .8 pounds to go so I should probably figure it out. 🙂 You’ve worked hard! You deserve to celebrate your accomplishments! (And, let’s be honest, the occasional cupcake is okay. You’ll just see results faster if you don’t have one after every workout.)

4. Surround yourself with a great support system. – I am blessed to have so many amazing people in my life. My friends and family are just awesome. It’s important to have those people in your life that will love you just the same no matter what weight you are, but are also extremely proud of your accomplishments. You need the people who you can vent to about your frustrations and will always respond with “You are totally rocking those Nike Tempos” whenever you’re in doubt about your thighs. In addition to my friends and family, my fellow Weight Watchers are a great source of support. It’s so nice to have a group of people who truly understand what you’re going through. Also, I LOVE my new Sweat Pink Sisters. We’re all at different stages in our journey to be healthy, but they are a constant source of inspiration and encouragement. I get so proud whenever I hear about one of their accomplishments. If you would have told me a year ago – even a few months ago – that I would be part of such an amazing group of HEALTHY women, I would have laughed. A lot.

5. Find a system that works for YOU. – Weight Watchers happens to be what’s working for me. I like the meetings and I like holding myself accountable with weekly weigh-ins as well as the flexibility of the Points Plus system. However, it’s not for everyone. There are a lot of great weight loss plans out there. Do some research! Also, you might find that you don’t want to concentrate on weight after all. As long as you feel happy and healthy, your plan is just fine.

I want to thank Nikki again for letting me post on her blog. I’m so happy I got to share a little bit of my journey with you today! Shameless plug alert: You can find me over at suchgreatbites.wordpress.com. 🙂

What are some things you use for motivation to stay fit, active, and healthy?

5 Comments

Filed under Guest Post

5 responses to “Guest Post: Motivation by Sally

  1. Such great advice. Congrats on making it through a tough but worthwhile journey. It looks like you got a lot out of it!

  2. Haha it’s true that you’ll basically NEVER regret a workout! 🙂

    Honestly, blogging has been a great motivator for me to stay on track, because I’m surrounded with a community of encouragement!

  3. healthcraved

    that is great advice! I’ve found that focusing on a number on the scale isn’t motivating enough…I need something bigger and in my opinion, more important to work towards. for example, going a certain time in a 5k–or trying a new type of exercise I’ve never done before. those are more motivating to me

  4. Love it! I agree that having FUN is most definitely one of the biggest motivators to stay active and healthy! 🙂

  5. Glad you have had such great success with WW Sally! Best of luck to you in your weight loss journey!

Leave a Reply

