Back from the Burgh

If you couldn’t tell from my post on Saturday, I had a fantastic time at home this weekend.  There was volunteering on Thursday, family time on Friday, and more volunteering on Saturday!

Saturday night was another Jam on Walnut event in Pittsburgh.  Basically, the event in beer and bands on a street in the city, and the donations and tips from the event go to the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.  I am sad that this was the last one of the summer! It was PACKED, which hopefully means a lot of money was raised – though a final count hasn’t been tallied yet!

IMG_0325.JPG (2)

That’s a picture from earlier in the night before it got too busy. There was a time when the crowd didn’t even move! So awesome for the cause Smile

Yesterday was a first birthday party! One of the girls I grew up with (that lived down the street and my mom babysat) was back in Pittsburgh for her son’s first birthday! The party was at an awesome boat house!

IMG_0332.JPG (2)

There were some pretty cute guests in attendance, too! The little girl on the right is the sister of the little boy whose birthday it was! And the other little girl’s mommy was also part of my mom’s babysitting bunch! Too cute!

IMG_0333

IMG_0358.JPG (2)

And I can’t forget the yummy desserts, of course!

IMG_0334.JPG (2)

IMG_0335.JPG (2)

IMG_0336.JPG (2)

Desserts that definitely warranted a little cycling upon my return to Shippensburg.

IMG_0362.JPG (2)

20 miles in the bag, hopefully I keep the workout ball rolling throughout the week.  I really fell off the bandwagon last week! Here’s to a new beginning!

After the 20 miles, I watched My Week With Marilyn, and fell in love with the whole thing! It was an extraordinary movie.  And the lead male role wasn’t too bad to look at, sorry Travis Winking smile

Happy Monday!

Tell me your favorite part about your weekend!

21 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Exercise, Family, Food, Training, Traveling, Weekend

21 responses to “Back from the Burgh

  1. I’ve never been to Pittsburgh but it looks fun!!! Best part of my weekend: my bff flew in from Dallas and he’s visiting til Tuesday! It’s been so much fun hanging out with him!

  2. Yum! Cupcakes! 🙂 I am ready to just relax during a weekend…this one was super busy!! We had a Christian band come in Saturday night for a concert in the community and it was so much fun. It went really late and at about 9:00 I was ready for bed, um I may be getting too old!

  3. Man that kid knows how to eat a cake!

  4. What a fun weekend! I’m glad you got to enjoy some of the nice weather 🙂

  5. So many precious little faces! Happy birthday to Jonathan!

  6. Man those desserts look amazing!! Of course all I would care about is the sugar lol

  7. Wow your biking pace time was amazing – I cover about 15 miles in that same time. I love that huge cake in front of the birthday boy – what fun!

  8. I love the first birthday cake pics! Those are always awesome 🙂

    Great job on the ride!

  9. Not even a mention of the red pants.

  10. what a great weekend! I love being outside during the weekend. Isn’t it great the weather isn’t a billion degrees anymore! And awesome job getting 20 miles in- you are a champ!

  11. I love the movie, ‘My Week With Marilyn’! It was so good.

  12. That sounds like the perfect weekend to me! I also love, love, love my week with Marilyn!! 😀

  13. being in the burgh sounds awesome! i love it so much there..i need to go visit my friend again! PS i went to Berlin just for the day yesterday and it’s so awesome down there. we will have to make trips down!

  14. It looks like the second half of the weekend was just as much fun as the first half. Our 9 mile run was the best part of my weekend!

  15. Aww, I love kids! So cute. 🙂 I didn’t do much this weekend, but I hung out with a 4 year old today. He asked me to move my bed into his room so we could have a sleepover. LOLZ.

  16. Baby’s first birthday cake!!! How stinking cute! That picture reminds me of when I was little and my mom snapped a pic of me with pasta all over me.

  17. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    Those children are so adorable! It sounds like your weekend finished just as well as it started. I love that sense of community with your mom babysitting girls you grew up with, who now have children of their own 🙂

Leave a Reply

