The Last Day of Summer :(

Boooo.  I hate that this day has to come! Today is the last day before I begin my LAST semester as a grad student at Shippensburg! Craziness! Time flies!

Flash back to freshman year of undergrad:

100_1992

This post is basically where I am going to look at the little goals I set myself at the beginning of the summer and see how I lived up to them!

The first goal was to read 15 books this summer.  I only made it to 12.5, and 13.5 if you count the text book I read for class! I didn’t make to the goal, but I did read some really good books throughout the summer.  Check out my book nook tab if you’re interested in what I’ve read!

Goal #2 was to make 5 crafts, but I only made 2.  Tie dying and pottery! This was definitely one I wish I could have fit in more of, but it just didn’t work out! And my tiny apartment isn’t the best for crafting in!

My third goal was to make new recipes.  I definitely didn’t do as well as I could have, but I did try a few new things, such as the zucchini cakes, that I plan to include in my diet more often. 

Lastly, I wanted to update my resume, which is the one goal I can say I was 100% successful at! Yay! As of right now, my resume is pretty much updated!

One thing I am proud of myself for is that I spent time enjoying my summer and living in the moment.  I didn’t worry as much about each sent I spent while on vacation, and I really tried to enjoy myself even with all of the working and classes I had to do. 

And now for random facts:

1.  I biked 40.4 miles yesterday! YAY! It was an awesome ride.

2. I have to present at graduate student orientation today for a half an hour! Eek!

3. This video is amazing.  Jack Antonoff (of the bands Steel Train and Fun.) falls off of the stage during a concert but just gets back up and continues playing.  So awesome!

Ok, I’m off to enjoy my last day! Hope you all have a great day! Smile

22 Comments

Filed under Goals, Life

22 responses to “The Last Day of Summer :(

  1. You biked 40 miles… girl… you are a beast, haha! I’d be proud of myself for biking FOUR! 😉

  2. wow what a bike ride, nice job! It looks like your summer has been awesome and you took advantage of it for sure!

  3. You did have a great summer. I am glad that you got to do so many fun things. Hopefully your last year as grad student is full of great memories 🙂

  4. I think enjoying the summer should def count for something. You seemed like you had such an awesome summer and I’m certainly pretty jealous! It was also great to see you this summer and besides, that many books is the short summer we had is a serious accomplishment!

  5. Dang, thats a long bike ride!! Nice work!

  6. Glad you were able to enjoy your summer! You accomplished a lot–good for you!

  7. It sounds like you had an amazing summer and at least with a teaching job one day you’ll be able to always have the summer off!

  8. I hope you had a great last day of summer! enjoy your last semester! ANd I think you did pretty awesome for your goals this summer. can you believe its over already???

  9. What a great bike ride! 40 miles..I am impressed! 🙂

  10. I think you hit your goals pretty well all up! And I agree with the above comments – 40 miles on your bike is amazing. I hope the transition back to study goes ok this week :S

  11. Great bike ride! 🙂 I hope your presentation went well! 🙂

  12. Glad you enjoyed the summer… and I also think you hit your goals well Nikki! Here is to a stellar new year 🙂

  13. A 40 mile bike ride? Holy cow what endurance! How long does it take you to go that far and do you have to take many fueling breaks?

  14. congrats on all the accomplishments! hope you enjoy the last semester!

  15. I think you did awesome! Love this post too 🙂

  16. You did so good with your goals, and you had one heck of a summer! I hope you had a great day back at school. 🙂

  17. Awesome job on your 40 miles!! Can I ask what shorts you wore? My butt always gets so sore on long rides!

  18. What an awesome summer! And 40 miles – whoa 🙂

Leave a Reply

