Masters Mania

So a year and a half ago, I hung up my towel, suit, cap, and goggles (and kick board, paddles, fins, pull buoy…you get the point) after about 15 years of swimming. And then yesterday, I dusted off my equipment and rejoined a swim team. 

100_3602

(enjoy the flashback pics…you all said you liked them last week in my post!)

It has been FOREVER since I’ve been on a team, and I loved every minute of it.  It was nice to wake up early and feel productive.  I decided to spontaneously join on Tuesday.  In order to join, I had to buy a YMCA membership, which works in my favor as I can now take spinning classes and the like.  I don’t pay for a gym membership as it is being a student, so it wasn’t that big of a deal. 

Practice is from 6 – 7 a.m. on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.  It’s a 20 minute drive, so it will have me up and going earlier than normal, which is probably good for me!

I love that masters swimming seems to be so much more relaxed than I am used to, which is great for me right now.  No sets of 50 x 200s or anything crazy like I used to do in my college  swimming days. 

100_0384

As of right now, I am starting in the lane that goes on the second fastest intervals.  I would have been able to make everything in the faster lane for like one or two times, but not consistently.  My goal is to continue regaining my feel for the water and head into the lane with all of the guys Smile.

Speaking of which, yesterday when I lifted, I was the ONLY girl within the free weights section of the gym.  Nothing like lifting with some awesome undergrad boys who are just trying to show off at the beginning of their college semesters! Haha – just kidding, but seriously, some of them need to check themselves before they wreck themselves!

100_3070

Lastly, check out the Clymb.  The have some awesome fitness related sales right now.  I just bought a long sleeve cycling jersey.  They also have sales on Road IDs, yoga clothes, running clothes, hiking apparel, climbing apparel, triathlon gear, and so much more.  It is amazing.  You need to go check it out!

And you can check out a video of my swimming 100 fly in high school that I just found.  It’s about 4 seconds off of my best time…which could be due to the fact that I can very easily see my hips just sink straight up into the third turn and the entire last length of the pool.  Sounds about right for me…

We have some stroke work tomorrow, so maybe I can relive my career as a butterflier Smile Can’t wait!

15 Comments

Filed under Swimming

15 responses to “Masters Mania

  1. Very cool! I think it’s really great that you just did it on a whim. 🙂 Aaand you get to utilize the other equipment! Have a great Thursday!

  2. Hooray for getting back into the pool! I recently joined a masters team as well. It’s definitely humbling getting back in the water after being out for a while. This morning we did a ridiculous sprint set, and I am EXHAUSTED. I am guzzling a giant coffee as I type this.

  3. i cant wait to watch your video! ( icant while im at work!)
    But awesome job swimming. I LOVE masters swimming (and I was there regularly, I was always trying to get into the “fast” lane haha)

  4. Man congrats on this. I know it is a commitment to do something like this but I think it is great for you. I don’t know how you do it though, swimming kills me!!

  5. It must be exciting for you to start swimming again. I am sure that you will be back into great pool shape in no time!

  6. Hooray! I’m so excited for you.

    I’m pretty much always the only girl in the free weights room 😦 Also, why do guys always have to slam the weights??

  7. Glad you’re swimming again! Loved the video…felt like I was watching the Olympics again!

  8. Yay! This is great!
    Love this video! 🙂

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    Oh, how exciting! Congratulations 🙂

  10. I’m really happy you are getting back into masters. That is so exciting. UGH-tell me about undergrads…I’m getting hit on them when I give them drug counselling!

  11. So awesome!! I really need to take official swim lessons. I want to do a triathlon, but I’m afraid I’ll drown. How do you find a reputable swim instructor?

  12. This makes me so happy! I’m soo glad you could find a master’s team because I know you were looking for a while. So exciting 🙂

  13. That’s really exciting! I know you will really enjoy swimming on a team again.

Leave a Reply

