WIAW: Three Days at Home

It’s hard enough to make meals for one person.  It’s even harder when I know that I am only going to be home for three days in a week before up and leaving again. 

One thing that I try to do is make something that can be frozen for the future.  Case in point: pumpkin muffins.  Perfect breakfasts for any time, but especially for before and after swim practice.  They are light, and I can’t handle too much before swimming.  One before, one after, and I’m set!

Here’s the recipe I used!

PUMPKIN MUFFINS

Ingredients:

  • 1½ cups almond flour
  • 3/4 cup  canned pumpkin
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp  ground cinnamon
  • 1½ tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 cup raw honey (optional)
  • 2 tsp almond butter (I made my own)
  • 1 Tbs sliced almonds

IMG_0453.JPG (2)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350℉.
  2. Coat muffin tins with coconut oil (or use paper muffin cups and add 1/2 tsp melted coconut oil to batter).
  3. Mix all ingredients and pour evenly into tins.
  4. Bake for 25 minutes on the middle rack.
  5. Sprinkle almonds on top immediately after taking them out of the oven. (I mixed mine in…still taste the same Smile)

IMG_0455.JPG (2)IMG_0456.JPG (2)

Just a warning, I had to make sure I separated these so I only ate a servings worth instead of the whole batch.  They’re addictive!

Something else I do, in order to avoid my produce going bad, is go to the grocery store salad bar and get a HUGE salad to last me a few days.  I normally have cucumbers that go bad over the weekend or some lettuce that is guaranteed to wilt the second I leave for a few days.  So I make up a big salad that I divvy up for meals throughout the few days I am home.

IMG_0454.JPG (2)

Add some pickles, and that was part one of last night’s dinner.  The rest was some random stuff that I pulled out of the fridge: pickles and a string cheese.

And almonds and yogurt were snacks are per usual.  I have had more than my fair share of Chobani lately.  And it never seems to get old!

My lunch yesterday was actually some oatmeal.  I guess my tastebuds have just been confused and want breakfast all of the time.  I’m ok with it!

IMG_0416.JPG (2)

Off to swim practice for week number two Smile Yayyy for joining a team! It’s seriously such a great thing!

Also, sorry this week’s WIAW was kind of weak.  Such is life, though, of the college graduate student.

Thanks to Jenn, I am going to try and make some new habits of not overindulging over the weekends.  I need to continue my good eating through the days I am not in my routine at home. That’s when my pitfalls seem to happen!

Out with the old thought process, in with the new!

Anything great in your eats from the week?

13 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, WIAW

13 responses to “WIAW: Three Days at Home

  1. Those muffins look great! I’ve been pretty pumpkin-obsessed lately!

  2. Angela @ Health's Angel

    Yay, one of the first pumpkin recipes I’ve seen posted for the month so far! They look so good too. I’m sure it won’t be long before I make a pumpkin baked good of some sort…

  3. Oooh the pumpkin muffins sound good! It is definitely that time of year to pull out the pumpkin and start baking! 🙂

  4. ahhh those muffins!! What could be a more perfect intro to fall than punpkin muffins?!

  5. those look delicious! I bet andrew would eat them too (SCORE!)
    I hope you had a blast at swim practice 🙂

  6. Gluten-free pumpkin muffins? I love! I have this HUGE 5lb bag of almond flour that I need to dig into. I’m in the same boat you are in. With classes Mon and Wed, I have to make breakfasts and lunches to get me through the first days of the week and it’s INSANE.

  7. Yay for pumpkin!
    I am so excited to start bringing in all things pumpkin again!! And these muffins are a great way to start. 🙂

  8. I’ve been muffin-obsessed lately! I’ll have to try those this weekend!

  9. oh gosh I dominate all my produce, that is the first thing to go!

  10. I’m all about the pumpkin right now, too!

  11. I’ve got to try those muffins, I’m obsessed with anything pumpkin flavored!

  12. Frozen products are a huge help once they are made, that is for sure! Those muffins look great and perfect for your cooling down temperatures 🙂

  13. love love pumpkin muffins!! xo

Leave a Reply

