Long Day WIAW

The bad thing about being busy all of the time is that I end up packing all of my meals for the day the night before, and I rarely get to eat at the kitchen table.

Take yesterday for example.  For breakfast, I defrosted 2 pumpkin muffins overnight.  I devoured one at home and one in the car on the way to the school I am placed in.  

IMG_0456.JPG (2)

Lunch is also packed the night before.  I typically make up a huge vat of salad to last the whole week and just take a serving out when needed.  Add some tuna, and I call it lunch!

IMG_0593.JPG (2)

I had a Gnu bar and some almond/sesame seed mix mid afternoon during prep period.  We eat an early lunch so I am always starving during the afternoon!  Sadly, it was the end of the Gnu bars AND the almonds.  Must get to the store soon!

IMG_0595.JPG (2)

IMG_0423.JPG (2)

After school, I dug into a honey crisp with some PB crave while watching Friends (go figure).  I’m half way through season 8!!

IMG_0587.JPG (2)

Dinner was the same as pretty much every night: 1 egg + egg whites scrambled with some cheese on top.

IMG_0590.JPG (2)

My after dinner snack got a little adventurous.  Homemade granola bars from a recipe I found online!  I adapted it a little bit based on what I had in the cupboards!

Almond Granola Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole almonds
  • 1 cup walnuts
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup dried dates
  • 2 Tablespoons sesame seeds
  • 1/4 cup + 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 3 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon almond extract
  • Dash of cinnamon

IMG_0591.JPG (2)

1. Add 1/2 cup each of almonds, walnuts, and old fashioned oats into a food processor. Process until fine (not too long or it will start to turn into nut butter!) then pour into a large bowl. Roughly chop the remaining walnuts and almonds, then add the bowl. Add remaining old fashioned oats, dates, and sesame seeds, then mix well and set aside.

2. Combine honey, coconut oil, salt, vanilla & almond extracts, and cinnamon in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir until the mixture melts, then foams, then cook for 15 seconds longer. Pour over nut mixture and mix thoroughly to coat all the ingredients.

3. Line a half sheet pan or 8×8 pan with enough saran wrap or parchment paper to let it hang far over the sides, then pour in granola. Press very, very firmly with your hands or something with a flat bottom (may need to spray it with non-stick spray.) Wrap the overhanging saran wrap or parchment paper up over the sides and refrigerate until firm, about 4 hours.

4. Using a sharp knife, cut chilled granola into bars. Wrap individually in saran wrap and store in the fridge or freezer.

IMG_0594.JPG (2)

Mine are in the fridge for now.  Definitely tasty, and so much cheaper than buying bars! I think I am going to try and make my own from now on.  There were a lot more bars before I devoured them all while doing some homework.  Ehhh no big deal…

Believe it or not, that’s exactly what I had packed for my meals today! Unless I change my mind on the eggs, I can pretty much guarantee a repeat today and tomorrow as well.  Works for me Smile

Thanks, Jenn, for another WIAW, and have a great day everyone!

23 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, WIAW

23 responses to “Long Day WIAW

  1. I have to prep/pack all of my meals the night before too! It seems so daunting in the evening when all I want to do is relax, but it’s really nice to just grab and go in the morning!

  2. Angela @ Health's Angel

    I have no idea why I don’t make my own granola bars more often. Those look awesome! And definitely more wallet-friendly.
    I had an incredible honeycrisp apple yesterday! Apples are tasting better and better now that fall is coming.

  3. MMMM. Those look so good. I need to start prepping all my meals because I end up eating at the dining halls which students and such…but I guess I don’t really have a problem with that either.

  4. I love Gnu bars, but your homemade bars look so good!! 🙂

  5. Oooh those granola bars look amazing! I generally do prep work on Sundays for lunches for the upcoming week but recently my stove had been broken! It’s fixed now so that means more prep work this Sunday!

  6. When I was in school, I also used to pack an entire day’s worth of food the night before. Otherwise, I’d go straight to the bagel shop!

  7. I love making homemade bars!! Seriously its one of the best ways to save money AND make them with whatever you want 🙂

  8. With classes on Mon and Wed, I have to prep breakfast, lunch, and dinner for TWO days at a time. It’s exhausting but allows me to get to bed quicker on school nights – which I desperately need. I want to make some homemade granola bars now because those look delicious.

  9. what a great idea! I love when people prep things for easy on the go! it is just so logical! (:

  10. At least you’re prepared for a whole day of eats. It’s okay to repeat meals. I do that all of the time.

  11. Those granola bars look great! I think I may do the same for next week. It is nice to have a healthy bar (with healthy ingredients) to grab with you.
    Your day sounds a lot like mine. I definitely do things the night before to save time. It helps those mornings I am super rushed!

  12. those bars look so tasty!!

    also i LOVE EGGS. easiest healthy cheap food ever.

  13. Haha! Repeat meals are how I lived all through this last year where I was at a desk job. I just didn’t have time to think or create something new and exciting. Now that I am back to nannying and have more time, I am loving having more options. 🙂 But hey, repeat meals are good too! When you know what you like, it’s good gravy. 🙂

  14. Aww, I pack a lot of my food too and it’s a bummer. There is nothing like sitting in your own kitchen, relaxing with a good meal. But life is busy … And that’s why we can make granola bars for on-the-go 😉

  15. Ohh those granola bars sound tasty!! I love the portability!

  16. I love having eggs for dinner! I tend to get into a swing where i will eat the same thing day in and day out for a while. It’s easier than planning out 7 meals!

  17. these look delicious! I can’t wait to try them! do you think andrew would eat them?

  18. I always prep the night before.. otherwise the morning is just a hot mess of me scrambling around to get everything together! The granola bars sound great Nikki 🙂

  19. LOVE Gnu bars. Sorry you ran out :(.. thank gosh those granola bars sounds delicious though!!

  20. Those bars look amazing! Season 8! Yay! It’s funny, any time that I start a show and they have lots of seasons, it becomes this contest to see how many episodes I can get into one day! 🙂

  21. caloricandcrazy

    Packing and prepping food for the week ahead is so convenient. And delicious….seeing your granola bars :)!

Leave a Reply

