Bethany Beach Triathlon Recap

So, I hinted at it yesterday, but Sunday’s triathlon was a success.  The pre-race nerves and early morning jitters were so unnecessary in the end…but I am one to get worked up about even the silliest of things!

Let’s start before the race.  5 a.m. wake-up call, coffee, and toast with peanut butter.  And then we were off! The transition area was open until 6:45, and there was a long line to get numbers written on us and our stuff set up.  Once we were set up, we waited a bit until it was meeting pre-race meeting time.

466461_10151237664106145_1409366277_o

That’s us pre-race.  Trav’s bro, Trav, myself, and my bestie Melissa.

After the meeting, we all headed down to the beach.  The boys were the first wave to go, as they were competing in the duathlon.  And then it was my turn!

I was worried about getting in and out of the water, but it wasn’t AS terrible as I thought.  I really loved the swimming part, and I was the second one of my wave out of the water!

132453_10151237669736145_858792817_o

That’s me second from the left, pumping the arms like a hardcore triathlete!

55977_10151237670911145_1114475000_o

First girl triathlete out of  transition! And then it was on to the bike!  The bike was BRUTAL on the first half.  The headwind was outrageous, and it was such a relief to turn around and head back on the course.  It was incredible how much different the first half was from the second.  I definitely got passed by a lot of people on this part!

The run was much better than I had anticipated.  I wasn’t sure I would even be under 10 minute miles, but my first mile was almost under 9! I was very impressed with my splits after all of the other parts of the race Smile.  I did get passed a lot, but we all know that if anything, swimming is my best leg.

241490_10151237685141145_926753595_o

Here’s us after the race! With our finisher medals and visors…that are oh so cute by the way Winking smile.

202622_10151237688521145_896032260_o

As you could tell from yesterday’s teaser, I ended up getting 3rd place in my age group, and got an additional medal.  Most importantly though, I got free frozen custard!

IMG_0617.JPG (2)

Here’ are my splits in case you were curious!

bethany beach tri

I definitely think I may be addicted to triathlons now.  Too bad the season is practically over.  I think that will be my new race of choice Winking smile…maybe a half Ironman one day?? Only time can tell!

Special congrats to my fellow finishers, and of course a huge thanks to Erin for being our official photographer!

What’s your favorite race? Have you ever done a triathlon or duathlon?

40 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Races, Running, Swimming, Training, Traveling

40 responses to “Bethany Beach Triathlon Recap

  1. Wow, that’s awesome! I stink at swimming so I don’t think I could ever do a tri – maybe you can coach me? 😉 Congrats!

  2. wow! you did awesome! I have always wanted to do a triathlon.. maybe a sprint one! I am the worst swimmer though that I’m not sure if I could do it in open water. I’d much rather do a mud run. (:
    itsaharleyyylife.com

  3. So awesome! Congrats lady!

  4. That is ridiculously impressive – I am so proud of you!!

    I’ve always wondered, if the swimming is first, and you jump out and hop on the bike, aren’t your shoes soaking wet from the water dripping down your legs by the end?

  5. Awesome race and congrats on your AG placing. Woohoo!

  6. Awesome recap and congratulations! This is such an amazing accomplishment.

    I’ve never done a triathlon, but it’s definitely on my to do list. I just need to get a bike and conquer my fear of open-water swimming, NBD 😉

  7. Ahhh congrats! Looks like you had a blast =]

  8. Angela @ Health's Angel

    Congrats, again! I am the complete opposite of you…not too great of a swimmer so I’m not sure if a tri would ever be in the cards for me.

  9. Good for you, girl! What an awesome accomplishment 😀

  10. seriously way to go girl! You rock!

  11. I am so proud of you. You seriously worked so hard for this and you deserved that placement! I can def see you training for an ironman or something. Or half ironman…or more tris. You will be a machine.

  12. Congratulations on a great race! I love the photo of you exiting the water, great shot!

    My husband and I did two triathlons and a formula 1 distance duathlon this summer. We are doing a half-Ironman distance (not Ironman brand) triathlon next summer, plus some other fun races too!

  13. So exciting Nikki, congratulations!

  14. So exciting! You should be VERY proud, congratulations!!

  15. dayglows

    Congrats on the tri Nikki! It’s awesome that you have been swimming with a master’s team lately, I am pretty jealous… of that and your frozen custard ;). Looks like you kicked some butt on your swim though.

  16. I have never done a triathalon… swimming isn’t my favorite and I’ve seen Jaws once too many times to even consider swimming out into the ocean.

    You are such a beast and I feel so inspired. If I knew I’d get FRO-Custard after a race I’m think I’d run faster… just sayin’ 😉

  17. Wow, you totally rocked this tri !!! You’re good at all three sports and I can tell you had fun 🙂

  18. Ah I meant to comment with my new blog! Ooppsss! 🙂

  19. You did amazing Nikki!! You should be so proud. I’m sure you’re still beaming. Savor it! You’re awesome! I can’t wait to see what you do next. 🙂

  20. amazing joB!!!! and second in your age group I am SO impressed! maybe one day we can do a tri together 🙂

  21. Congratulations on a great race and on placing 3rd in your age group! Will there be more triathlons in your future?

  22. AWESOME!!! Way to go girl! I keep saying “next summer” but this time I REALLY mean it! 😀

  23. Pingback: PMB 2012 | Life After Swimming

Leave a Reply

