Nikki and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

Anyone catch the childhood literature reference? One of my favorites!

But back to yesterday.  If I wasn’t stressing out enough about life in general and my semester picking up, then yesterday definitely didn’t help. 

Let me just run you down through some of it.  First, I got up, got ready, and headed to my elementary school placement.  I stopped for gas on the way, but the pump didn’t stop automatically, gas got everywhere, and I wasn’t a bit of money on the extra gas that spewed everywhere.  I was kind of frightened that my car was going to blow up when I got into it. Thanking God, it didn’t.

And then I get to school and go to wash my hands thoroughly to get rid of any remaining gas on them.  But as soon as the water came on, a MASSIVE thousand-legger bug started crawling around in the sink.  Now, I don’t really mind bugs, but thousand-legged furry things are the only ones that really freak me out.

After that scare, the got through the rest of the morning, sat down at lunch, and realized that I forgot to put my red wine vinegar in my salad before I left the house.  Boring salad it was.

The afternoon at school was a little disheveled.  I came home from school, chilled out a bit, ate dinner, and then started out the door for a run as a torrential downpour began.  I decided not to risk it and just went to elliptical at the gym.

Which brings me to a point of brutal honesty of why I am going to turn into a workout, healthy eating snob.  Let me start by saying how much I loved the triathlon last weekend.  So much so that I honestly have been looking into half Ironman competitions.  But there’s one thing about the race that I just hated. 

I look at that picture and feel disgusted.  I hope that it knocks motivation into me.  I don’t like the way I look, and I frankly have avoided taking my camera places because I don’t like what I see when I plug it into my computer.  I have gained 30 pounds since high school, and 20 in the past 2.5 years.  My goal right now would be just to lose 10.  Booking a trip to Florida for December is another reason to get my motivation boosted.

That wasn’t the only picture of myself, but that’s the one that really hit home.  This one made me laugh though:

^ Me with the arm in the air…

At least Glee was there to cheer me up last night.  And I felt better after my workout, too.  Plus, the thought of going home to see my poochie (and Mama!) tomorrow is keeping me trucking through it!

What do you do when you’re having a bad day?

Also, congrats Holly on winning the Pittsburgh pilates giveaway! An email will be sent to you ASAP!

18 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Life, Pictures, Weight

18 responses to “Nikki and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

  1. One of my biggest fears is that while pumping gas that my car will explode. Sorry to hear your day wasn’t that great boo hiss. I try and remember that my day will get better eventually and everything is short term,

  2. The fact that you completed the triathalon itself is amazing – I don’t know if I could do it! Keep your head up! Things will turn around <–my mom always says that 🙂

  3. That sounds like a crazy day to me! You should be proud of yourself for finishing and placing in your triathlon. Just think of it as a good starting point to kick start you training and healthy lifestyle. The vacation in Florida can be your reward.

  4. Oh my gosh! The same thing happened to me with the gas when I was in high school! I had to go to class and everyone could smell it! it was so embarassing! (They ALMOST evacuated the school because the smell of gas was so strong, so I had to admit it was ME. hahaha)

  5. ittybitsofbalance

    I admire you for having the courage to post a picture that you aren’t necessarily crazy about, and not to mention your honesty about bringing your camera around with you. Nikki, don’t ever be discouraged by that! The fact that you even could do a race like that is AMAZING. You should be so proud! ❤

  6. I couldnt even do a race like that, i wish I was as strong as you! you are amazing and I think whatever you put your mind to you can achieve.

  7. Yuck, I would be scared of that big bug too! I loved that book as a kid and sometimes think about it when I’m having a hoorible-no-good-very-bad-day.

  8. Sorry you had such a rough day! I look at that picture and immediately think that my arms have never looked that strong. Hope you have a wonderful weekend Nikki!

  9. I’m sorry that you had a bad day, shake it off and hope that the next few days go better!

    I also felt that way about myself and I hated how I looked, which is why we started to get back into exercise, etc. You will get back into shape and the important thing is that you are doing something about it! You look like you are rocking a triathlon in that photo!

  10. I also admire your courage for posting a photo that you don’t like. So often, HLB’s filter out the unpleasant and leave readers with a skewed version.

    I will say this, though: http://www.livelifehappy.com/success/

  11. Oh my gosh that gas story made me cringe! I would have been sooo scared! I hate hate hateee all the pictures that are taken of me during runs. They always get my legs in the worst unflattering way. Do what makes you happy!!

  12. I actually did a similar thing the other day with gas. I was freaking out too!
    I am sorry that you aren’t feeling so great. Like Brittany said, I never like pictures of myself..especially running!

  13. Oh Nikki, you know we all have those days just like I did this past week. I hope you enjoy your weekend, evaluate things and I know you will come back stronger. You always have great plans! And BTW, that pic doesn’t even look like you. That happened to me in my half-marathon picture. It seemed like every piece of cellulite was showing! We need to know what kind of cameras they use!!

  14. I am SO SO SO sorry you are having a rough day. I completely understand that feeling of EVERYTHing going wrong. Lately a nap, a walk around the neighborhood with andrew, or a good sweaty workout helps,. I will help in ANYWAY I can to get you to your goal! (I need to lose some lbs too!)

  15. Right there with ya sister! It’s been a long week and an even longer day. I have totally done the gas thing!! I had even been chatting with a friend thinking that it would shut of. It didn’t. Horrible!
    I can totally relate about the weight gain. Mini goal would be 10, larger goal would be 20. It’s doable!!

  16. nikki! i’m so sorry about your rough day =[ it’s always the day to day things that break you down.

    also, i think you look super strong in that picture! trust me when i say i could break that tri into a million chunks and it would STILL take me 10 years to complete the whole thing–i’m super proud of you!! hopefully i can join you in being a healthy eating snob–i need to lose some!

  17. Pingback: Things That Made My Week Better | Life After Swimming

  18. sorry to hear you had a bad day. you should be feeling pretty proud that you completed a tri!!! that’s pretty amazing!!!

Leave a Reply

