WIAW: Cauliflower Pizza Fail

First off, for those of you who wondered, the pumpkin Pringles remained on the shelf so I didn’t taste them.  I am not so sure that they’d taste very normal haha…

Moving on… So I’ve seen this cauliflower pizza crust all over, and of course when I go to try it out, it is a huge fail.  (I definitely am not good in the kitchen.) Still tasty, though!

I tried to make buffalo chicken pizza, but ate it with a spoon.

I steamed and mashed some cauliflower, mixed in a whisked egg and garlic powder, and put it onto a pizza tray.  Then I topped it with some chicken, Frank’s red hot, and a tad bit of cheese.

IMG_0833

I put it in the oven on 400 for about 20 minutes like the recipes I saw said to do, and then I kept it in longer because it looked no different.  And then I ate it with a spoon. I blame it on my oven  from practically 1899.

IMG_0834

The end.

In other news, I got myself an apple slicer, and I couldn’t be more excited.

IMG_0826

Honey crisp for the win.

Now, go check out people who actually know how to cook/bake/etc.  Thanks, Jenn, for hooking us all up each week!

Happy hump day!

If you are a kitchen pro, do you have any tips for a less than mediocre cook?

27 Comments

Filed under Food, WIAW

27 responses to “WIAW: Cauliflower Pizza Fail

  1. I desperately need an apple corer/slicer!

  2. Angela @ Health's Angel

    The pizza fail was probably tasty in it’s own way! I used to think I was a horrible cook, but I’m getting a lot better and I actually really enjoy it! Practice makes perfect. I don’t always have the time (or energy, more likely) though, so oatmeal definitely makes an appearance for dinner. Quite a bit.

  3. Ive made it once before and it was SUPER soggy. The flavor was still there, I just couldnt pick it up at all lol SO I typically just use a normal crust. Thats one of my favorite parts about a pizza anyway 🙂

  4. Tori

    I imagine your cauliflower was too wet.. maybe try squeezing some liquid out first next time?

  5. hahha I have been wanting to try that crust but i would totally mess it up too!

  6. I can’t even tell you how many times I have failed at recipes!

    Roya
    http://www.royaghorbani.wordpress.com

  7. Haha I love the comment ‘to see people who actually know how to bake’. I have to be honest, without the crockpot, I’d likely be no where. I can bake and stuff, but my gosh, you really need to have some serious time for that.

  8. My tip to you is to embrace the kitchen fails. Sometimes they turn out to be the best creations! Just have fun, and hey..if the pizza tasted good then you made it work!

  9. What a bummer but at least everything was still edible! Its the worst when you have to throw an entire recipe away!

  10. I had been wondering about this cauliflower crust! Nearly all of my kitchen experiments are some sort of fail…so I throw on hot sauce and enjoy!

  11. I’ve seen this recipe, but never tried it! Did it taste good?

  12. katemovingforward

    Lol! Hey, you’ve gotta have a fail every now and then-it build culinary character or something! Props to you for trying new things though–I don’ think I could go that far out.

  13. Seeing this post inspired me to find some new recipes, I tested tonight and successfully made a wrap and pizza bites (both paleo!!) – I will be posting them later in the week so you should try them!!

  14. haha girl don’t worry, my first time making cauliflower crust was a huge fail too!!

  15. I tried making cauliflower crust once. Turned out rubbery. I love cauliflower rice and cauliflower mashed potatoes though! Hard to mess them up! Oh, and apple slicers are a life saver. Enjoy!

  16. Happy WIAW! Your cauliflower pizza still looks good, though. You didn’t mention adding cheese to your crust, which really helps hold everything together. Could it have been the missing cheese? One tip I learned from a blogger (wish I knew who it was!) is to grate your steamed broccoli rather than mash it. I used this technique in my “Skinny Tofu Patties” recipe, which is a cross between cauliflower pizza and tofu patties. Try it out, I think it’ll help! 🙂

  17. I’ve been wanting to try a cauliflower crust too! I’m sure it was till good 🙂

Leave a Reply

