It’s for a Good Cause ;)

Well, you probably don’t know, but I signed up to run the Pittsburgh half marathon again next May.  I ran it in 2011, signed up for the full in 2012 (but then got injured), and now I’m back on board for the half in 2013.  Funny thing – a week after I sign up, I sprain my ankle.  Not ok.  It better be better to train again.

IMG_1350

This year, though, I’m doing things differently.  I am running the race for a charity, and an important charity that’s close to the heart! Can you guess it?

If you guessed the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, you’d be right! If you didn’t know, a close friend of mine has CF and I have done walks, rode in 65 mile bike rides, sold beer, hosted a silent auction, etc for the CFF, and this time I’m raising money again for the race.  I have never run a race for a cause, so I am excited to do this.  Smile

IMG_0579 (2)

This is the awesome part – anyone who donates at least 27 dollars to any fundraising page for the event is entered to win an iPad! That means that if you donate to my fundraising page, you get entered! My goal is to raise $400, and I definitely think that’s realistic!

If you’re able to help (and I’d really and truly appreciate if you could), please head to my fundraising page! Thanks for your support to help me run for a cure Smile

Have you ever run a race as a fundraiser? How did you raise the money?

13 Comments

Filed under Life, Races, Running

13 responses to “It’s for a Good Cause ;)

  1. I’m thinking of signing up for the Pittsburgh HALF!!!! 🙂 my bff lives out there and runs too so it may happen. I figured if anywhere to run my first one- it would have to be in Pittsburgh! So awesome that you’re doing it for charity too

  2. I think that’s so beautiful what your doing hunnie. Good luck with your training & of course the actual race itself in 2013… just don’t get injured 🙂 lol

  3. That is SO awesome! 🙂 There is a 5K that supports the Special Olympics Nov 3rd that I want to go to, but I have to work…. :/

  4. I’ve done a breast cancer 5k! It was fun. 🙂 Good luck with your training!

  5. what a great cause, so glad you are doing this race.

  6. I love this idea!! I have never run for a charity (unless it was one that was set up by the race itself) but I think it’s a great idea!

  7. What a great cause! And I’m sure it means more since it’s personal to you and your friend!

  8. Very cool Nikki! I have never run a race to raise $$ before. Good luck- it is for a great cause!

  9. This is awesome and you know I got you!! RICE the shizz out of your ankle and you’ll be better before you know it. 🙂

  10. Love your cause, lady -good luck!

  11. that is so awesome! My goal for 2013 is to sign up for raises for A CAUSE not just to run.

  12. This is great! I would love to run for a cause sometime, I figure that my husband and I run so much why not?! We just have to pick the right cause 🙂

Leave a Reply

