NEWSIES

Ok guys. You may know that there’s a storm hahaha.  Guess who doesn’t have classes today or tomorrow! This girl.  That gives me plenty of time to recap my weekend.  Starting first with NYC Smile.

First off, the weather held off for us and it didn’t even start raining until our bus ride home…thanks Sandy for that!

We left Sunday morning at 6 am and got there around 10.  That gave us about 5 hours to explore before we had our show and headed back.  We were supposed to leave at 8 pm, but MTA was closing at 7 so the subways and such were closed and we left at 6 instead.

We got dropped off right in front of the theater, and started the day! My friend Chelsea and her husband had never really been to NYC, so we headed to Times Square!

IMG_6128

There’s me and Chelsea!

IMG_6139

LEGO HULK!

IMG_6122

We walked around for a while before heading to lunch at the Heartland Brewery.  I got a taco salad and a really yummy dessert, both which I forgot to picture.  Oh well!

IMG_6159

Then on the way to the theater for the show, we saw this:

IMG_6154

Newsies time! If you didn’t know, I am OBSESSED with Newsies, the cast, and the music.  I saw it already in May, but the University gave me another opportunity to see it.  I was glad to see it again.  The lead who plays Jack Kelly was Jeremy Jordan the last time, but he is now recording episodes to be on SMASH, so now it it Corey Cott, who was still fantastic!

IMG_6112

IMG_6116

This is me and my “twin” from the honors fraternity! I had no clue I’d be seeing her and it made me SO happy Smile Love Vanessa Smile

IMG_6162

SHOWTIME!

IMG_0882

And then, after the show, I MET SOME OF THE CAST. They were rushing out to get home before the subways closed, but we stopped them Smile

IMG_6164

That’s Ryan Steele, who plays Specs ^.

IMG_6165

Ryan Breslin, who plays Race ^.

IMG_6167

Ben Fankhauser, who plays Davey (my personal fave Winking smile). ^

IMG_6169

And of course, Corey Cott, or the new Jack Kelly!

You can watch Corey’s new intro video here:

Ask anyone on the trip: I was the annoying girl shaking and screaming and freaking out.  I was saying things that didn’t make sense like a weirdo.  I was in little girl heaven.  Star-struck for sure.

Great day! Now I get to sit and do nothing for two days…

How is the weather for you? Affected by Sandy?

16 Comments

Filed under Traveling, Weekend

16 responses to “NEWSIES

  1. Hey I’m crawling out of my rock now? Storm, what do you mean? I thought they were just cancelling class all week for Halloween parties! I’m glad you had such a fabulous time in NY! That is awesome! Though wish it was of the Oswego variety!

  2. I’m so jealoys you don’t have classes!! What a fun weekend too! NYC is crazy exciting!

  3. How fun!! That’s so cool that you got to meet them too!

  4. yayyy! I love NYC! And these pictures 🙂

  5. Ah, that’s so awesome that you got to see some of the actors!

  6. How fun! Looks like you had a great time!

  7. Looks like a lot of fun! I love that you met some of the actors 🙂

    I’m also very jealous that your classes have been canceled! The college that I work at won’t close, but I’m hoping that a miracle will happen and it will!

  8. I’m for real jealous of you right now – I loved Newsies the movie (and Davey is my favorite too)! Looks like an amazing weekend!

  9. I am dying to go see newsies!!!!!! I’m trying to convince my mom sometime this winter to go! That is so cool that you met the cast- I would be star struck as well!!!

  10. Sounds like a super fun trip and I am glad that the weather held out. I want to go to NYC someday, but to run the marathon. 🙂

  11. What a fun trip! I’m so glad you got to meet all those cast cuties 🙂

  12. “Ask anyone on the trip: I was the annoying girl shaking and screaming and freaking out. I was saying things that didn’t make sense like a weirdo. I was in little girl heaven. Star-struck for sure.”

    HAHAHAHA I love this! I’m so glad to hear that you had fun!

  13. That is so cool! Congrats on meeting the actors. I would totally be “that girl” too.

  14. Vanessa

    I just saw Newsies on Broadway 2 days ago and LOVED IT!!! It’s amazing that you got to meet some of the cast!!! Corey Cott is my favorite 🙂

Leave a Reply

