The Rest of My Life

One of my classes this semester is an elective called “Careers in Special Education Outside of the K-12 Environment”.  The course is allowing me to see other alternatives to teaching that I can do with my degree (which can’t happen soon enough…is it December 14th yet?).   This course, paired with the fact that I only have a month and a half until I enter “the real world”, have forced me to sit down, think about what I want to do with my life, and start applying for jobs.

And applying for jobs is exactly what I did this weekend.  I have been bookmarking jobs in all sorts of fields, and I have started applications for teaching positions in Maryland as well. Because districts don’t have anything posted right now, I’ve applied for substitute positions, and I’m also getting applications together just to send to districts just to get my name out there.

I’ve also scoured jobs in higher education including one that involves working with student athletes (which I totally miss being sometimes) and another one that would allow me to oversee some of the going-ons in the graduate studies department.  If you didn’t know, I am currently the head of our graduate student board on campus, which has encouraged me to get involved in programs on campus that affect graduate students.

Eventually, I’d really like to get my doctorate in special education in become a professor…turns out I need experience first Winking smile.  It’s just so time consuming and frustrating to apply for jobs that currently don’t even exist.  But I guess I have to do what I must.

There are a few things I would enjoy doing for the rest of my life: working for a non-profit or foundation (Special Olympics or Cystic Fibrosis Foundation!), teaching, or working in higher education. Now I just have to find a job that I love in one of those areas…

At least since I was dog sitting, I had some puppies to keep me company while I worked!

IMG_0924

IMG_0927

I really hope something pans out in the near future. Hopefully, I can at least sub until something long-term comes about.  Only time can tell!  Luckily I have the rest of my life to figure it out!

For those of you with jobs – any sites I should be using to help find potential opportunities??

15 Comments

Filed under Animals, Life

15 responses to “The Rest of My Life

  1. Good luck with your job search! It’s a tough time to get into teaching (in PA, at least!) but something will turn up as long as you’re persistant!

  2. I totally understand about the job hunting. You and me both…that pin has got me cracking up for real LOL.

  3. I think it can be exciting looking for something, but also pretty overwhelming too! I have worked at the same job for nearly 12 years and have been apart of the banking world for 17. This past spring I ventured out and applied for a job that I desperately wanted and it was a little nerve wracking at times. Three different intervies and I still didn’t get it!
    You will be great! Good luck on your search!

  4. Good luck with your job searching girl. It’ll all work out how it’s supposed too 🙂

  5. Hunting for that first job is never easy – but it’s an exciting process and it sounds like you’ve found some great opportunities to apply for! When I graduated after my undergrad, I utilized career services at my university. They can help give you direction / resources.

    I would suggest the Chronicale of Higher Education – they post jobs for education at the college level – might be something there.

    My youngest brother is in special olympics and I volunteer a lot with their programs. GREAT organization! Now I’m busy helping him raise money to go to the world winter games in South Korea this winter. Super exciting!

  6. Angela @ Health's Angel

    Good luck! I wish I had some great advice to give you, but job hunting has been the beign of my existence for the past half a year…haha. You’ll get a lot of looks with a masters degree though.

  7. I think that it is great that you are getting a head start. I started sending out my resume about 3 months before I graduated to get my name out there. I lucked out and had a job offer in hand before I even graduated. However, the job sucked and I left after 3 months and took the next year off. I needed the break though since I hadn’t had one. Good luck!!!!! It sounds like you know what you want to do which is more than most people.

  8. You’ll do great! Not sure how education works, but my company uses Monster and CareerBuilder (and Dice.com but that’s for IT people mostly). I’ve found a couple of my internships/part time jobs from craigslist! The non-sketchy ads, of course 🙂 I’m sure the county websites would be more helpful for teaching positions.

    Good luck! 🙂

  9. job searching is the ultimate worst but I love that you have some sort of direction, that really makes such a difference. hang in there!

  10. I totally feel your pain on all of this. I now luckily have a job but it was stressful applying. And I’m still not sure what I want to do (I like the nonprofit idea, too), so it’s likely I won’t be at this one forever. But things work out! I promise! 🙂 Good luck!

  11. Job hunting is the worse and can be exhausting. I got both of my big girl jobs from job postings I found / companies I found while drinking vino. My suggestion is after dinner, grab a big ole wine glass, start googling your butt off and finding the odd jobs and apply to everything! Don’t get hung up on one thing and don’t waste your time stalking to company / school website for hours. Do that after you get an interview! Make a game of it and see if you can apply to more than you did the day before. Oh and don’t forget to drink your wine.

  12. Good luck with your job hunt! I hope you don’t have trouble at all finding what you want.

  13. Good luck with your job search! I didn’t really have to go through that, but my husband did. I was really happy when he finally got a job!

  14. Ah, best of luck with your job search! Maybe you’ve already done this, but my department has a counselor who is specifically there to help make your resume more awesome. That might be useful!

  15. Job searching… it’s so time consuming and can be really stressful. Any employed would be lucky to have you though, you’re one of the hardest working people I know… you’re always working! I think working for a non-profit would be really awesome too!

Leave a Reply

