Wonderful Wednesday

I just want to start this post by saying a huge thank you to you all.  Your happy vibes on yesterday’s post definitely helped me, and I am going to do my best to make today wonderful! Two great things did happen yesterday to help with my stress level, though.  1.) I got a perfect write-up for my teaching observation.  and 2.) I went to the doctor for the mystery on my leg, and though she didn’t say exactly what it is, she did say that (based on the picture I showed her from yesterday) it looks to be healing and doesn’t seem life-threatening Winking smile.

I know this isn’t a normal WIAW, but I have actually had success in the kitchen! WHAT?! I know, watch out Emeril. I can follow a recipe. Woot woot. Last week, this happened:

IMG_0904

Yes, those were supposed to be apple chips.  Oops. That was only 15 minutes into the supposed 2 hours they were supposed to cook.  200 degrees, my butt. Silly oven.

And then I got a oven thermometer and realized that my oven is no where near correct.  Like over 100 degrees off.  It’s a shot in the dark guessing where to set my oven in order for it to be the correct degree.  I honestly thing that the knob on the oven is made for a different appliance and is completely backward.  I know, it’s weird that I just figured this out now.  But I only started living there in the summer and honestly didn’t cook many things that weren’t on the stove top.  Summer eats = salads and such.  Figures I would figure this out with only a month and a half left in this apartment! haha

I made some kale chips for the first time! Go me!

IMG_0938

IMG_0940

I wasn’t sure if I was going to like them or not, but I did! Basically I coated some extra-dry pieces of kale with a little EVOO and sprinkled some salt before cooking them on 300 for 20ish minutes.  Pretty lovely!

As was my dinner:

IMG_0933

IMG_0934

Soup! And an easy one at that! Trader Joe’s Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper soup with some chicken mixed in.  Totally simple and totally delicious on the first day in which I had to scrape my car off before getting in…

These are a few of the kitchen successes I’ve had in the past few days.  Another success: I got my TB test taken and didn’t cry or pass out when they brought out the needle.  Total wimp right here.  I HATE needles.  But now I can send in my papers to be certified in special education.  Another thing to check off the to-do list!

IMG_0935

To check out what my fellow blogging buddies have been eating and cooking up in the kitchen lately, head over to the wonderful Jenn’s blog for the weekly link-up!

Happy Wednesday! How will you make it wonderful? I’m off to get mentally happy through a nice swim workout Winking smile

16 Comments

Filed under Food, Life

16 responses to “Wonderful Wednesday

  1. I’ve always wanted to make kale chips but I never knew if I would like them…I like kale so I think I would probably like the chips too 🙂 Also that soup mug is so cute!

  2. I’ve been wanting to try kale chips, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet. Maybe one of these days!

  3. I made a gigantic batch of cheezy kale chips for the Super Bowl last year and only ate one. Not my thing – but my mother loved them and stole the entire bowl. I guess she ate all of them in a matter of days!

    Wednesday will be wonderful because I have a shorter Finance class tonight 🙂

  4. I am a pro at burning things! I have made kale chips a few times and I range from charred to undercooked, I am given up that task to the dehydrator now!

  5. Glad that the bite or whatever is on your leg isn’t life threatening. Congrats on the perfect score. 🙂

  6. haha poor apple chips. Thats why I use my dehydrator! I dont trust my oven lol

  7. oh girl you should see what I tried to make last night, it was devastating at how bad I messed up. glad you got such good reviews on your observation. way to go!

  8. ahhh girl i’m feeling stressed too! i wish we lived close so we could beat ourselves up in the pool together! 🙂
    eek your oven sounds a bit evil! those poor apples! I need to try making apple-chips!
    I loveeeee Kale chips! yours look delish.
    hang in there, this stressful time will pass and you’ll be feelin great soon!
    xoxo!

  9. Glad you liked kale chips. I was so hesitant for the longest time and when I finally tried them, I loved them! 🙂

  10. Aww, I’m sorry about the apple chips BUT the kale chips look awesome!!

  11. Happy Wednesday! I’m sorry your oven is so finicky. But at least the kale chips worked out well!! Also, I totally feel you on the stress.. Don’t worry, we’ll all survive!

  12. Hope you had a good workout! The kale chips look amazing!

  13. Your apple chips are hilarious. That would totally happen to me too.
    I eat the same TJs roasted tomato soup with crab meta mixed in…so good!

  14. Ha Ha your poor apple chips :(… you can’t be successful in the kitchen all the time though right?

  15. We’ve had that soup from Trader Joe’s and it’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

