My Triathlon Tale

So, I got my first real taste of triathlons in September, but that wasn’t my first triathlon.  I had done three years at the local recreational triathlon in my hometown.  I even got first in my age group two of those times!

100_2095

Talk about triathlon newbie, though.  No pants whatsoever, a helmet that’s not mine, a mountain bike, sneakers, and the list goes on and on.  But hey, I loved it!

And then, of course, I did the Bethany Beach triathlon this past summer and adored it.  The combination of the three events makes me so happy. 

I’d say I’ve upgraded a little Smile.

I loved it so much that I decided to join USA Triathlon so that I can become a more knowledgeable athlete.  And so that I can sign up for all sorts of races Smile  Sad enough, but pretty much everything I want for Christmas is related to triathlons: wetsuit and aero bars.  And a computer, but that’s just a fun addition.

image

It’s official! And now that I have access to all sorts of race information, I totally want to try out a half ironman.  I was looking at this race that is in Delaware that is the half Ironman distance, but is much cheaper! Think I can train for a half ironman by September of next year?

I’m afraid that I won’t be able to complete the run… what are your opinions? I’ve lost a few pounds (yay!) which I am hoping could reduce some of the pressure on my joints.  My plan would be to continue to lose a few more for health’s sake!

I know that I can perform each leg of the race by itself, but the combination frightens me! Eeeeekkk!!

Life is so full of opportunities, and I just want to be able to take advantage of as many as possible!

Do you sign up for races that scare you???

I’m off to present at a conference! And then spending the weekend with my favorites! What are your weekend plans?

14 Comments

Filed under Life, Races, Weight

14 responses to “My Triathlon Tale

  1. Woah! My old roommate did a triathalon in Bethany Beach! That’s so cool haha. She loved it!! I signed up a for a race that scares me… and it’s tomorrow!!! haha half marathon, here I come!

  2. Congrats on signing up! I’m afraid to try for a triathlon because of the swimming component, I’m a bad swimmer lol. I also am sort of afraid of the ocean so I think I’d need a pool haha. You are inspiring me!

  3. This is so exciting!

    I’ve only done one race (a half-marathon) and I was TERRIFIED. I had race anxiety dreams for weeks leading up to it.

  4. I’m glad to read about your tri life. Any tri race would scare me-I signed up for one…once and it was enough LOL. I didn’t even do it (it was caneled due to weather…and saving my life) but needless to say I’ve never been more scared in my life!

  5. A half ironman?! That would be amazing and I’m sure you would do great!

  6. Girl! You will rock it! I am so excited for you! 🙂

  7. AWESOME!
    “Life is so full of opportunities, and I just want to be able to take advantage of as many as possible!”
    Totally agree with you there!

  8. so exciting, this is on my fitness bucket list but I have no confidence in my swimming.

  9. Very cool!! I am excited to hear about your adventures in triathlons! I definitely think you should sign up for a 1/2 IM. It would be a good goal and something to look forward and train for.

  10. what a great race!!!!! a 1/2 ironman! you will do an amazing job!

  11. Do it girl, you’ll totally rock it!! 🙂

  12. Good on you for signing up girl! 🙂 Hope the conference went well!

  13. DO IT DO IT DO IT SIGN UP FOR THIS RACE!! I think absolutely you can complete the run. That’s just a little less than a year to train for 13 miles..most people do that in 3 months! You have more than enough time, that would be such an amazing race!

  14. Pingback: 2013 BASS LAKE CLASSIC TRIATHLON « The Greenwood Lakehouse

Leave a Reply

