Women and Lifting

Notice anything new on my blog today? I’ll give you a clue, it’s on the right hand side of the page.  That awesome Tribesports badge is my new pride and joy.  Tribesports has given me the opportunity to be a blog partner, and I’m super excited.  Don’t know what Tribesports is? It’s a social network for sports, fitness and healthy living enthusiasts. Members are encouraged to connect with others, take fitness challenges, share advice and recipes and log their training data and lifetime achievements.  Sounds like something I’m interested in for sure! One of the cool things is that I will get the opportunity to spread the fitness love with you! I’m pretty excited about this, considering my blog has been lacking in the fitness area lately.  Too much craziness!

Today on Tribesports, a great post by Nia Shanks was posted on the blog! The blog is about women and weightlifting.  I know so many women are afraid of being swoll, huge, masculine beings by lifting.  Totally not true!

In the post, Nia lists 4 reasons why women most definitely should lift! It also has this beginning lifting workout!

Starting with just four exercises is totally doable, and you can notice quick results that will lead to increased confidence! Sounds good to me!

I urge you to head over to Nia’s post for more benefits of lifting.  I really know that I should be better about strength training.  I used to do is 3 times a week when on the university swim team but let it fall behind.  Definitely not good!

“The myth that women shouldn’t lift heavy is advanced only by women who fear effort, and men who fear women” – LOVE THAT!

Do you lift and strength train on a regular basis?

9 Comments

Filed under Weight lifting

9 responses to “Women and Lifting

  1. I love using weights. I have never noticed getting bigger after doing it regularly, but I do notice that things get more tone. I really working for more definition in my arms.

  2. great post though, I must admit though I suck at all things lifting. I just can’t motivate myself to do it!

  3. I definitely need to do more strength training but it’s hard because I enjoy cardio so much more! Trying to fit in more lifting though for sure

  4. I hate lifting, but had made it a goal before I got injured. I probably only lifted for about 2 weeks. When I am healthy I hope to add it back in with my running routine.

  5. I LOVE lifting. It is part of my weekly routine!

  6. I do! My gym offered a free intro session with a personal trainer and I completely high jacked the appointment for her to show me how to lift heavy things properly! I shared some of her tips in this post! http://abetteryeartoabetterlife.com/2012/10/25/turkey-spinach-stir-fry-trainer-tales/ congrats on the tribestamp!

  7. I LOVE LIFTING. And, like you said, no woman will get huge unless she’s some sort of genetic freak or taking steroids. I’ve been lifting steady for a few months and am only now starting to see some changes.

    Lifting is for real the most empowering thing. It gives me such a confidence boost!

  8. I am a swimmer in college too and I know all about being “swoll”. We have weights a couple times a week and you also know how us swimmers naturally have these huge “man” shoulders. I love lifting and I notice that I have gotten stronger and more toned. I don’t think girls should be ashamed of looking strong. I’ll be a retired swimmer in february, so I’m nervous for trying to keep up with the training and weight lifting! Thanks for the post.

  9. I used to skip strength training, but once I added that. and cut my cardio in 1/2, I have seen better results!

Leave a Reply

