Winter Lights 5k

Hey all! First off, if you missed it over the weekend, I FINALLY posted my JGL recap!

Secondly, this past weekend was a great one for me! I headed to my sister’s house in Maryland and was met there by Travis.  We hung low Friday, but Saturday was consumed by Penn State football watching at the Greene Turtle and a 5k at night!

The 5k was in a park in Germantown, and we walked through their Christmas lights display! It is so adorable and fun! We did it last year, too, and even though the displays were the same, it was still a fun time!

IMG_6218

IMG_6219

IMG_6223

Me and my honey Winking smile bahahaha

IMG_6230

IMG_6235

Being goofy through the tunnel of lights.

IMG_6239

Water station fuel! Perfect!

IMG_6240

IMG_6241

I sure do love my gingerbread men!

IMG_6243

IMG_6247

Post-race hot chocolate!

We finished in a measly 55 minutes! That’s with mucho lolly-gagging along the way! Perfect night for a stroll!

We made it even more perfect with some Jiffy pop around the fire! Have you ever had Jiffypop?

IMG_1001

IMG_1002

Great way to spend a Saturday in my opinion! And it made me even more excited for the fact that I am GOING HOME TONIGHT! I have swim practice, a day of parent/teacher conferences, a workshop, and class, and then it’s off to my parents’ house!

I am so excited! How was your weekend?

17 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Races

17 responses to “Winter Lights 5k

  1. that seriously looks like a blast! There’s a similar race through lights in my area, but I had to miss it because it was on a night I have school. Would be fun to do next year though and just enjoy it and experience the lights in a different way. Your whole night looks like so much fun

  2. LOL, love this and it looks like so much fun. I’m glad you had a great time and I hope your foot feels better. 55 minutes and stops for photos? That is legit powerwalking.

  3. What a fun time! Jiffy pop is really the best! 🙂

  4. The Christmas lights looked really pretty. I can’t believe that they had a full display up already. I have only noticed a couple of houses in our neighborhood that had lights up last week. One house even had their Christmas tree up- last week! I don’t think that I have ever had jiffypop before, but I sure do love my popcorn.

  5. This walk looks like so much fun! I think I remember you posting about this last year… how time flies!

  6. This looks like a really fun time! Your pictures totally cracked me up 🙂

  7. How fun! The city I lived in for college would always put together a huge light display by the Mississippi river. It was fantastic! How awesome would it be to do a 5K in that environment? I’m jealous. Looks like lots of fun stuff and good times are headed your way. ENJOY – you’ve earned it!

  8. what an awesome race to run! i actually love making all my popcorn on the stove. So much fresher!

  9. So jealous you did the winter lights 5k! I LOVE those winter lights but it was sold out before I could sign up. Super cute pictures!

  10. YAY for going home!!!
    the winter lights 5k looks magical!
    and you and your honey are too cute!
    I hope you have a safe trip home, and a blast with your family this week!
    xoxo!

  11. what a fun run! I need to find some around st louis because I want running to be fun again!

  12. I totally remember you doing this last year! I also remember wishing we had something like that in PA. I used to eat Jiffypop when I went camping with my family. Brings back such great memories 🙂

  13. This looks and sounds like a really fun race. We have a 5K here that runs through our Galaxy of Lights and call me crazy but I’m going to do my best to PR there in a couple of weeks.

  14. Love those pictures! Looks like so much fun! I spent the weekend with my family and can’t wait to see them for Thanksgiving too!

  15. What a seriously fun run. Love all the phones & also that your Saturday had some Penn State happening in it 🙂

  16. That looks like so much fun, I would love to run a race at night! The girls are in love with that popcorn now since they saw it on a episode of Roseanne. Lol! They think it’s the coolest thing.

  17. that looks like such a fun race! any night race is automatically more intriguing in my opinion – throw in christmas lights and i’m there!

Leave a Reply

