Ravioli Recap

Every year around Thanksgiving, my cousins and grandma come over to our house to make ravioli that we freeze until Christmas.  My mom’s side of the family is strongly Italian, so homemade ravioli is a must.  Some of us Italians (such as myself) are not fans of ricotta cheese, so we make both cheese and meat ravioli.  This year, we got together and made 221 cheese and 113 meat ravioli that will most likely be demolished quickly come Christmas day.

My mom makes all of the dough and filling before anyone comes so all we actually do is assemble the final product.  First things first: flour up the situation.  Definitely have to make sure that the trays and surfaces are full of flour.

IMG_6275

Then, roll out the dough!

IMG_6274

Gotta make sure it’s thin enough to see through, but no holes!

IMG_6276

Next, you fill them, cut them with the special cutter, and fork them.  Little Cillian had his own ravioli rolling pin and cutter to help with his first ravioli experience!

IMG_6288

Here’s a picture of Grandma forking:

IMG_6308

Here’s some of the finished cheese product!

IMG_6286

Can’t forget our little dough taster:

IMG_1045

Also, notice that tray above ^.  We use all of the leftover scraps as noodles! Totally yummy!

Last but not least, the newest addition to our family! This is Indy!  She’s 8 weeks old and my cousin just picked her up on Wednesday! Makes me wish I lived closer to home to see her all the time!

IMG_1047

Have you ever made homemade pastas?

Any family food traditions?

19 Comments

Filed under Family, Food

19 responses to “Ravioli Recap

  1. LOOKS AMAAZING! I have never made homemade ravioli before, but I bet its a million times better than the store bought. For Christmas, everyone in the family makes a different kind of cookie, then we bring them to my grandma’s to divide them up. Then we go home with a HUGE plate of ALL types of cookies. (I can’t wait!)

  2. YUMM!! How fun making this as a family!

  3. How awesome! These pictures are priceless. Making your own ravioli is one of the coolest thanksgiving traditions I’ve seen! Have a great weekend 🙂

  4. I’m so impressed! I love ravioli but I’ve never tried making my own!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend 🙂

  5. That ravioli looks amazing! I have never made homemade pasta before and you made it look easy. Maybe someday I will attempt it.

  6. This looks so amazing! I’ve aways wanted to do something like this, but didn’t know how! Amazing!

  7. Angela @ Health's Angel

    This just got me excited for the homemade ravioli our family has on Christmas, too. Isn’t it the best!?!
    Also, the picture of the baby with your grandma side by side in front of the raviolis just warms my heart. Precious family time right there!

  8. I have never made it, but it looks like you guys had an awesome time doing it! I love family traditions like that. 🙂

  9. What a fun tradition! I’ve never made homemade pasta before; it intimidates me for some reason!

  10. What an amazing family tradition! I love it and it looks so good!

  11. Indy is such a cute puppy! I bet you guys had a great time playing with her.

    Ravioli making sounds like a wonderful tradition for your family. I wish we had something like that that we did together.

  12. Why do you have essentially the greatest life ever. I’m about to steal all your ravioli tomorrow…oops… PS: Indy is adorable!

  13. Those pictures are fantastic…espeically your dough taster. What a fun holiday tradition!

  14. Looks like a really fun tradition! We don’t really have any family food traditions, but there are some constants that we always have.

    Last year my mom and I made gnocchi around Christmas time, it was fun but messy!

  15. Wow! What a great tradition 🙂 I’ve never made homemade ravioli before but it definitely looks delicious. Also, the new pup is ADORABLE! Makes me want to go out and get another little one!

  16. awww I love the pics!
    what a fun holiday tradition! I’m Italian too, my family needs to get on board with the ravioli making.
    My sister and I always make Gingerbread houses and bake about 6-dozen cookies on Christmas Eve, I cannot wait!!!
    I hope you’ve been having a great weekend!
    xoxo!

  17. Your ravioli looks amazing. What a cool tradition
    OMG that puppy is too cute. If my first dog is a boy he will be named Indy or Colt:)

  18. Ahhhhhhhh my nana used to make the most amazing homemade ravioli (both meat and cheese, too!). I’m so jelly!!!!!

    Also, you have to post a million more puppy photos!! 😀

  19. Pingback: Ravioli Season « pattytmitchell

Leave a Reply

