Getting Up to Date

I have pretty much been slacking when it comes to blogging and commenting on blogs, and I totally apologize for that.  You’d think I’d be all about spending time on my new computer, but truthfully, life has been more about spending time with family and stressing out about the last month of graduate school.  I will go one more step and say that I’ll probably continue to slacking until at least December 14th, when school is over.  Unless faculty strikes, which could happen considering there is currently not a contract.

Here’s just a quick round-up post for you to fill you in on how I’d been since my fancy ravioli family time Smile

1.  I went to my aunt and uncle’s house to spend time with my family on Thursday.  Cillian adorably chowed down on a turkey leg.

IMG_1062

Meanwhile, I chowed down on apple/cranberry crisp and Creamery ice cream.  We had pumpkin and chocolate chip cookie dough! Yum!IMG_1066

IMG_1065

2.  I left my family’s Thanksgiving quickly after dessert to drive 4 hours to Trav’s family.  I immediately got wrangled into Black Friday shopping, which I’m not the biggest fan of.  I do all of my shopping online! haha

IMG_6315

That’s our shopping group around 4 am after we got back and before some of us heading out to shop again! I am going to blame the fact that I’m closer to the camera as the reason my face is kinda looking large haha. 

3.  I signed up for a half Ironman distance triathlon! EEK! It’s not until September 8, 2013, but it’s still crazy nonetheless!

4. I got to spend Friday night visiting with a college roommate, Anna! It was great to see her, catch up around a bonfire, and see her family!

IMG_1071

5. I got to spend the weekend with Trav’s family as well as a wonderful addition to their family! They hosted a foreign exchange student from Spain while Travis was in high school, and Carlos came back to visit while he is spending a semester studying in Boston!

IMG_6319

Travis, Carlos, and Trav’s brother! It was awesome to spend time with him, and to hear about his first experience watching Honey Boo Boo (eeekkk…).

6.  Can’t forget the good eats at Trav’s! 

IMG_1069

Coffee and pumpkin crunch for breakfast  Smile

IMG_1072IMG_1074

Shoofly Pie! – DELICIOUS!

IMG_1075

Grilled chicken salad from Chili’s – with corn salsa and beans! Amazing!

Alright – it’s back to the grind for three more weeks! At least Hollie is visiting currently! She spent the night last night on her way back to NY, so be prepared for recaps! Smile

Happy Monday! How was your weekend/holiday??

37 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Family, Food, Life, Traveling, Weekend

37 responses to “Getting Up to Date

  1. Mmmm Penn State Creamery Ice cream! I don’t think you can get much better than that… ohhh yes you can, a win on Saturday 🙂

  2. Angela @ Health's Angel

    If I were finishing up my last month of grad school, I don’t think I’d be blogging much either! No worries. Have fun with Hollie!! 🙂

  3. Don’t feel bad about reading other blogs. Stay focused! I skipped black friday shopping this year. My sisters went but I think this year was just way too crazy for me. Online shopping it is! 🙂

  4. It looks like you had an awesome weekend! I am not a huge fan of Black Friday shopping either. I haven’t really actively participated in it before. I don’t have that kind of motivation!

  5. I’ve been slacking on the blogging/commenting too. I am happy to say I finished one of my final exams over the long weekend but still have a ways to go on the last one! I did some Black Friday shopping – but I started at 11am ON Friday. No Thanksgiving shopping for this girl! 🙂

  6. Glad to see you were able to enjoy time with your family! December 14th will be here before you know it!

  7. this looks like an amazing break! family makes the holidays so wonderful for sure. that baby sure knows how to eat!

  8. YUM! Your dessert looks awesome! We had an ice cream dessert too!! 🙂

  9. Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving break! The baby with the turkey leg is priceless– He looks just like I do when I eat those things at the fair haha.

    And about the grad school freaking out– Don’t worry girl. Everything will fall together on its own 🙂

  10. Looks like a great THanksgiving!
    I am impressed you guys went Black Friday shopping! It is not the lines that necessarily bother me, it is more the stampede. After hearing about people getting trampled, I am weary now. Glad you all were safe! 🙂

  11. YAAYAYAYA!! I am so excited about your half ironman! I am so proud of you for signing up!! You are going to KICK ASS!! Awesome time with family and yummooo food!

  12. Congrats on signing up for the Half Ironman– that’s exciting!!

  13. I only do online shopping too – I only do real shopping when I’m on vacation (or for groceries)! Glad you had a great time with family and enjoyed Thanksgiving!

  14. My holiday was fabulous. Great time with family and friends.
    Glad you had a wonderful time too.
    What in the world is Shoofly Pie?
    Oh, and don’t stress about blogging right now. Focus on grad school, you are almost done and then you can return to the wild world of blogging which can be a full tiem jon in and of itself.

  15. Your computer is the shiz. You are the shiz. I’m so glad I could see you yesterday and today. I love that both of us posted while hanging out…we are so skilled LOL. I’m excited to see how you do at the half iron man. I cannot even fathom that personally.

  16. Haha, Cillian looks hilarious with that turkey leg in his mouth. Men and their meat… And everything on this post made me drool. I’m a dessert fiend, you’ve found my kryptonite 😉

  17. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts

    I think you can’t go past family and finishing grad school in priorities and it sounds like you’ve been squeezing a lot of great stuff in 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family for last week.

  18. Looks like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, friend! Loved the shots! And girl, I’m amazed by your willingness to go Black Friday shopping if you don’t like it, haha! Christopher and I love it, but most my family hates it (other than my youngest sister who comes with us sometimes).

  19. Congrats on signing up for your big race! I’m excited to read about your training 🙂

  20. Yummyyy….all that food is making my mouth water!
    Love all of your pics….a perfect catch-up blog! 😀

  21. Ugh I know what you mean about being uber busy and not being able to post! It has been the same around these parts. Is it acceptable to mention how good looking Carlos is? Maybe not. Hahaha.

  22. You’ve got me craving some ice cream!!

  23. YAY for PSU creamery ice cream ANDDD signing up for a half ironman OMG!!!! SO exciting 🙂

  24. Looks like you got to spend some great quality time with family and friends! It’s ok to totally put that before spending time on the computer. 🙂

  25. Goodness you were busy for Thanksgiving but it looks like you had a great time with your family, his family, and got to see some friends as well. All the food you guys had looks super delicious. I managed to forget to bring home leftovers. Epic fail!

  26. Your first half iron!!! THAT IS AWESOME!!! I definitely need to get my 2013 race schedule started

Leave a Reply

