A Day to Remember!

Here you go! The moment you’ve all been waiting for since the surprise post yesterday! haha

If you’ve been following my blog since last year, you may have read this post about our story and how we met.  It was the fall of 2007 – 5 years ago! Travis and I have practically grown together into the people we are now.  From 18 to 23 – important years to figure out what you want and who you are.  And now we are stuck with each other forever! haha

Here’s what went down:

I drove down to Trav’s apartment on Maryland’s Eastern Shore on Wednesday night because I had to attend a substitute interview day on Thursday.  Subbing is my backup job if everything else falls through.  On Friday, he told me we had a date night to go into Ocean City, Maryland to see their Christmas lights display.  During the day on Friday, he text me from work and told me that he wanted to leave around 3 to stop at Assateague.  First, let me just say that he is obsessed with birds so his reasoning was that some birds migrated to the island after the hurricane and he wanted to go check them out.  This is totally believable, and I will never say no to go to my favorite beach in the world.  I’ve gone every year since before I can remember.

We headed to the beach, and I started snapping pictures of the empty island. 

IMG_6395

Travis had his fancy bird watching binoculars and camera, so I figured he was getting that situated to look for birds.  Turns out there were no birds, and when I turned around from picture  taking he was down on one knee.  I don’t think I moved or said anything for a solid 5 minutes before I realized that he’d asked me to marry him.  Of course I said yes!

IMG_6398

IMG_6397

And that’s when the excitement began!  We started calling everyone: parents, grandparents, etc.  We didn’t want to make it official on Facebook until we talked to the important family members, and it took forever to get ahold of my grandma! But we eventually did and of course everyone was super excited!

IMG_6402

We went to the Greene Turtle for dinner.  Turns out not too many things are open in OC over winter.  I mean, we were on the beach on December 7.  Crazy!  I got a chicken caesar wrap.

IMG_1177

We then went to the Christmas lights which were really cool.  You rode on a tram that is normally on the boardwalk over the summer.  It took us through their display.

IMG_6412

IMG_6407

IMG_6425

IMG_6418

IMG_6431

IMG_6442

Afterward we went for ice cream at Dumser’s, which is a vacation tradition for my family.  I must have been so overwhelmed that I didn’t finish my dinner OR my ice cream! Something must have been wrong! haha

IMG_6433

IMG_6438

I was posing with the ring like it was my job apparently haha.

IMG_6439

And from there, we went home and calmed down from all of the excitement! Nothing more has been figured out, but we are both really excited!

More posts to come for sure.  Smile

32 Comments

Filed under Wedding

32 responses to “A Day to Remember!

  1. So adorable, what a picture perfect engagement. I am so happy for you both.

  2. What a perfect day! Congrats to you Nikki!

  3. Chelsea Vglione

    SO excited for you guys !!! and yes you posed for that picture like it was your job lol

  4. So perfect! I love reading engagement stories. Someday I should post mine- I was such a little brat. LOL 🙂

  5. Sounds like a fantastic day! Congrats again!

  6. Congratulations again! So excited for you two!

  7. Angela @ Health's Angel

    Proposed to on a beach…now that is incredible! 🙂 Very happy for you!

  8. Congratulations! So exciting! We also got engaged after being together for 5 years, he proposed ON our five year anniversary. I say that is a good sign for you two, just speaking from experience 🙂

  9. This sounds perfect!!! We love ocean city and I know all of those places!!! I am so excited for you!!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!

  10. Aw what a fun day! Congrats! You two look so cute together!

  11. This is adorable, and soooo perfect for you two!! You guys are PRECIOUS and I am so excited for you!! I would be posing with that ring like it was my job too!! CONGRATULATIONS!

  12. I’m so so happy for you guys. AWEEEE.

  13. yay! the story is finally out. I’ve been waiting all weekend! (: This is so exciting! Don’t you love how they trick you?! haha. Eric did the same thing to me.. and I alsooooo got engaged on the beach! (: I can’t wait to follow your progress!

  14. So excited for you! what a great day for both of you. I am so happy for you and Travis! (can you tell by all the !s haha)

  15. I was so excited when I saw it on Facebook!!! I’m so happy for you guys!!

  16. I can’t even begin to tell you how happy & excited I am for the two f you ❤ You both are perfect for one another. I'm so ready to start following your wedding planning now! Such a perfect story & night xoxo

  17. How lovely! Is it safe to say on that trip you saw a ‘lifer’? 🙂 Let me know if you need anything! And you might be interested in this: http://www.theeventcrashers.com/wanted-engaged-ladies-and-gents/

  18. Congrats times a million!!! You guys look so happy!!!

  19. I am so excited to hear about all of the wedding planning! You guys are so freaking cute together.

    Also, this:
    “We didn’t want to make it official on Facebook until we talked to the important family members”
    was totally me, too!

  20. Such a sweet proposal. I can’t wait to read about all the exciting events to come 🙂 You’ll have to keep us posted for sure!

  21. AHHHH! So exciting :). I laughed so hard at Travis saying he wanted to look at birds and you were like yeah.. that’s what he does. So adorable. I am so happy for you guys!

  22. So happy for you both! Super exciting and congrats!!

  23. AHHH CONGRATS CONGRATS CONGRATS!! I can’t say it enough. what a beautiful place for it to happen at of course. I love Assateague. Drew basically lives down the road from it! 🙂 beautiful ring, beautiful couple. LOVE it

  24. A HUGE congratulations to you guys!!

  25. AHHH! This is all so perfect and precious! I just love it! And I love how you are posing with your ring all the time. So proud! Oh girl, I’m so happy for you!! 🙂

  26. AWWWW!!! CONGRATS!!! 😀 😀 😀 How exciting!! So happy for you two!! ❤

  27. organicallymo

    Oh my gosh!!!! Where have I been??? Congratulations, Nikki!!! I am so happy for you two! 🙂

  28. Pingback: [the bride says] Meet Bride-to-Be Nikki | The Event Crashers

Leave a Reply

