Home for the Holidays

As many of you know, I was born and raised in Pittsburgh, and that’s where I am for the holidays! Happy Christmas Eve to you!

It’s nice to be home again! It’s been a while, and though I was home for a few hours last week, I went to Florida right away.  Let me tell you all about the trip.

My best friend, Melissa, picked me up last Tuesday morning to head to our flight from Pittsburgh.  We had an 11:10 flight, but it turns out we didn’t leave until 6:30.  We sat in the airport for over 8 hours.  Not okay.  In those 8 hours, I also discovered that I didn’t get the job that I went on two interviews for Sad smile.  I wasn’t really telling you all about that, but unfortunately it fell through.  Which means I will definitely be heading to live with Travis in a few weeks!

But back to vacation.  We finally got to Ft. Lauderdale about 9 hours later than hoped.  Which kind of took away a day of vacation. Our hotel was GORGEOUS though! Check out the lobby holiday display:

IMG_6461

And the view from our hotel room:

IMG_1226

For the first few days there was a lot of this:

IMG_6465

IMG_6464

IMG_6488

IMG_1238

The hotel was so  great and the staff so friendly.  We had complimentary padded chairs on the beach. It was awesome.  After two days, though, the weather was FRIGID.  Like went from 80 to 60 and even into the 40s at night.

Once it got colder, I spent more time looking outside at the gorgeous gym.

IMG_1230

Or laying poolside in my sweats…

IMG_1274

And eating of course, too. A huge bowl of froyo:

IMG_1277

Some drinks…

IMG_1241

And some amazing chicken nachos of course… Lulu’s is AMAZING.

IMG_1243

We also went out a few times.  Here is one of us at the hotel before we went out!

IMG_6497

Overall, it was great to spend time with my bestie and to relax, but the weather and some other factors kind of put a damper on the week.  Such is life, right!?

Now I’m off to spend tons of time with family and friends and enjoy a few weeks relaxing at home. Sounds pretty great, right?!

Happy Holidays, folks!

14 Comments

Filed under Food, Life, Traveling

14 responses to “Home for the Holidays

  1. What a great vacation!! The view from your hotel is gorgeous and there’s nothign better than time in the sun with your bestie

  2. I’m really sorry about the job… It’s all in God’s plan though. I have a feeling that it will all work out perfectly with you going to live out of state. I just know God has something awesome up His sleeve for you!! You’re such a hard worker, you’ll do great in whatever job you end up doing!

    I love your pictures from Florida! Gorgeous… Just like you!

  3. pickyrunner

    So sorry about your job but it looks like you had an INCREDIBLE vacation so hopefully that helped a little bit 🙂
    Have a wonderful Christmas- being home is always nice!

  4. Ahh girl that looks amazing! I’m south of Pitt visiting family for Christmas! And now that you will be with Travis hopefully we can meet up in the near future! 🙂

  5. I’m sorry about the job, but I know you’ll get something!

    It looks like you had an AMAZING vacation! I’m pretty jealous! I hope you have a great Christmas 🙂

  6. OH MAN I want to be there. It all looks like such a blast, you really got the best of both worlds with seeing your family and getting this awesome holiday

  7. Either way, at least it wasn’t snowing. UGH. It started snowing in VA today. Rude times 10000. I secretly still wish you were in Shippensburg this week so we could hang

  8. Awww it looks like you guys are having so much fun!!! 🙂

  9. Ahh bummer about the job, but that just means you have another opportunity coming your way!! Hollly moses to those nachos..YUM!! Glad you guys had a great time!! Merry Christmas!

  10. Looks like you guys had a great time! Sorry you didn’t get the job hon…There’s always another door! Glad that you are home with family and friends! Merry Christmas!

  11. Looks like you had a lot of fun in sunny FL. Don’t worry about the job. Everything happens for a reason. Hang in there. 🙂

  12. I’m so sorry about the job but I know you’ll find the best one for you!

    Florida sounds amazing even if the weather didn’t fully cooperate. I love all of the pictures! Merry Christmas!

  13. I’m so sorry to about the job situation, but just remember everything happens for a reason. Just keep your head up high, and know that something even better will come along.

    Wonderful photos from your vacation in Florida. Bummer about the delayed flight, but hey it looks like you more than made up for it w/ some fun ❤

  14. Sorry to hear about the delayed flight and the chilly weather – still looks like you got a nice tan, though!!

Leave a Reply

