WIAW: Mini Quiche

I know this is back-tracking a few days, but it totally forgot to post one of my family’s Christmas traditions!

Normally, we celebrate Christmas morning with a big old breakfast including quiche and cookies.  This year, we went to my uncle’s house for brunch instead, and postponed our quiche making until this past Sunday.  I think Travis was excited because that meant he got to be included!

The fun thing about making quiche in our house is that’s a “make your own breakfast” type of deal.  My mom makes the egg filling and I cut out the pie crusts, but then each person fills as many cups however they would like using the meats and cheeses.  I guess one nice thing about having it after Christmas is that we were able to use the leftover Christmas ham as filling! You could easily throw in some veggies, too!

Mini Quiche

Ingredients:

  • Preprepared pastry crusts (we use Pillsbury)
  • 1 cup half and half
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. pepper
  • Assorted meats, cheeses, vegetables, etc.

Wisk half and half, eggs, salt and pepper.  Roll out dough to 1/8” thickness and cut to fit within muffin tins.  Spoon meats, cheeses, vegetables into cups, and cover with egg mixture.  Bake 20-25 minutes at 350 until golden brown.

IMG_6577

IMG_6579

IMG_6580

IMG_6581

IMG_6584

IMG_6588

IMG_6592

Anyone else spy the nice little helper puppy? More like the cheese-begging puppy!

I paired two quiche with a bit of coffee cake, and I was set! My quiche were cheddar and bacon, and the coffee cake is an awesome recipe that we used in middle school home economics class.  To this day, it’s still my favorite coffee cake! Thanks, Mrs. Sanders for that Smile.

Thanks, as always, to Jenn for the What I Ate Wednesday link-up!

What’s your favorite way to eat eggs?

20 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, WIAW

20 responses to “WIAW: Mini Quiche

  1. Angela @ Health's Angel

    That’s a fun tradition! My mom always makes eggs with leftover ham in on Christmas morning for my dad and brothers. Personally, I’m not a fan. I’m not a big egg person unless they’re made it a restaurant and really, really good. Haha. I would be all about that coffee cake. 😉

  2. What a fun family idea! We tend to have the same breakfast food for Christmas every year. I think there’s something really fun about traditions like that.

  3. pickyrunner

    I’m not a big quiche person but that’s such a great idea! But the coffee cake, I could go to town on that 😉

  4. very cute, I want to do a gluten free version of this and have the cup be made of bacon. yes, that would be heaven.

  5. organicallymo

    YUM!! That could easily have been my plate of food. Seriously….I have the SAME Christmas dishes!

  6. Those come out really cute! And I like Alex’s idea about the bacon cups, double yum! Happy New Year!!

  7. I love reading about traditions! How cute and cool that Travis could join in this year, too. Your quiches look delish and your dog is adorable! My dogs are alwayssss begging as well!

  8. mmm those look so yummy! i love quiche- haven’t had it in such a long time!

  9. Those quiches are adorable! As is your doggie 😀

  10. Eggs and quiche are two of my favorites. I actually really like this mini idea because you are right….you can make your own flavor and let’s not even beat around the bush that I like some weirdass stuff.

  11. Mmm my mom always makes an egg casserole usually with sausage and cheese. My favorite tradition. I love the idea of those individual quiches tho! And coffee cake I loveeee!

  12. Those little quiches are so cute!!!!

  13. I love quiche and those look like the perfect size and sound yummy too! Thanks for sharing.

  14. Yummy I make eggs in the muffin tins all the time, but I never thought about adding the crust. Sign me up. I like my eggs with green pepper!

  15. Love this idea!! They turned out great!!

  16. Goodness those look delicious!!!!

  17. Aww, they are so cute! I love mini anything, haha!

  18. These look delicious! I am totally going to try this!

  19. These look ssooooo good!! I’ve always wanted to make a quiche but have never gotten the courage to give it a try. Perhaps making the mini won’t be as intimidating! 😀 Thanks for the recipe!

  20. These are so cute! That little pup is a good helper 🙂

Leave a Reply

