The Myrtl Routine

Because I currently have no job and can’t start subbing until all of my paperwork is processed, I’ve had a lot of time to blog, watch movies, catch up on my life, etc. 

Today, while running on the treadmill, I read USA Triathlon’s winter 2013 issue.  And then I came across this little blurb about injury prevention regarding hips and immediately bookmarked the page to look back as soon as I got home.

Because I’ve had trouble with weak hips in the past, and because the little article mentions weak hips leading to injuries elsewhere, I took the article to heart.  It mentions a set of 12 exercises called the Myrtl Routine that are used to strengthen the hip area and increase range of motion.

Thanks to running coach Jay Johnson, here’s a video of the exercises:

And here’s a printable version outlining and explaining them all!  I did the routine this afternoon after my workout and it took about 10 minutes.  I hope to do it every day and help my hips out! They seem to ALWAYS been tight… EEK.

Also, if you get a chance check out these two awesome articles:

NASA Astronaut Completes 1st Triathlon in Space (self-explanatory)

2012 SportsKids of the Year: Conner and Cayden Long (amazing, heartwarming story of a great triathlon team)

What sorts of injury prevention do you do?

P.S. – in case you missed it, here’s a chance to win my Sambazon smoothie giveaway!

5 Comments

Filed under Exercise, Injury

5 responses to “The Myrtl Routine

  1. I love learning about preventing injuries! My hips/glutes are super weak so I’m always trying to foam roll and strengthen them in any way possible!

  2. LOL. I love the “fire hydrant” because you look like a dog! HAHAHHA. i just died.

  3. You should have just driven to Shipp with all that free time. I’ve been stretching a ton more for injury prevention and foam rolling. I am starting a plan to get my weight lifting back to injury prevent too.

  4. what a great tool to help with injury prevention!

  5. I have horrible hips! They are out of alignment just a bit and I always have issues with my left hip, IT band and knee. Crazy hip. Thanks for sharing Nikki!

Leave a Reply

