WIAW: Crock Pot Lovin’

Based on the fact that I have been looking to try new recipes as well as the fact that Julie is hosting a Crock Pot Challenge, I’ve been Crock Potting it up lately.

So much so that I used it everyday this week.  And dinner tonight is going to be slow cooked as well. I guess you could call it my new “thing.” I even saw this while checking out at the grocery store and decided I needed it:

IMG_1430

I guess I’ll show you some of the stuff I’ve made!

First up:

Honey Garlic Chicken

(found here)

IMG_6817

  • 1 package of boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1/2 c soy sauce
  • 1/2 c ketchup
  • 1/2 c honey
  • pinch of basil
  • salt & pepper to taste

Cut chicken breasts in half, sprinkle with salt and pepper and place in bottom of crock pot. Mix garlic, soy sauce, ketchup, honey and basil in a bowl and stir. Add mixture to crock pot. Cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 3-4 hours. Reduce the sauce in a pot until thickened to desired consistency. Serve sauce over chicken.

IMG_6820

Served it with some rice and leftover corn.  Hit the spot.  The chicken fell part and was so tender and flavorful!

Next:

Overnight Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Found this one on Pinterest!

Throw 2 sliced apples, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon in the bottom of the crock pot. Pour 2 cups of oatmeal and 4 cups of water on top. Do NOT stir. Cook overnight for 8 – 9 hours on low.

IMG_6831

There’s nothing quite like waking up to a hot breakfast.  And the fact that there’s a few leftover servings, I’m set for a while! Top it with a little crunchy PB and it was perfection!

IMG_1438

Oh ya, and I can’ t forget to mention the best part of it.  Thanks to Reynolds Slow Cooker Liners, I have next to no cleaning to do afterward.  Talk about making dinner even simpler.

Can’t wait for more slow cooked goodness this evening! Smile

Thanks to Jenn for hosting the food loving party as always!

And don’t forget my Sambazon smoothie giveaway from yesterday!

Do you enjoy slow cooking? Any must-make recipes?!

35 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes, WIAW

35 responses to “WIAW: Crock Pot Lovin’

  1. I LOVE the slow cooker and you with out a job! You have been cooking up a storm!! That chicken looks bomb, I have never tried to make anything but stew / soup / a lasagna in my cooker. If you are looking for something different try out this sweet potato lasagna recipe, it was delicious!! http://abetteryeartoabetterlife.com/2012/10/29/sweet-potato-slow-cooker-casserole/

  2. I’m crock pot obsessed. This looks and sounds so good. Honey garlic chicken? Ah.

  3. I love my crockpot! I’ve used those liners in the past, but for some reason I’m paranoid to leave the house while using one of those! I know they’re safe, but they get kind of hot and I’m a worrywart! 🙂 I should really get over this, since cleaning a crockpot is a huge pain in the butt!

  4. I love crockpot meals but lately I haven’t made that many! I need to get back on it! I never used those crockpot liners but I might have to pick some up!

  5. Everytime I use the crockpot I ask myself why I don’t use it more. LOVE them!! I need to try that honey chicken too because it looks fantastic!

  6. Angela @ Health's Angel

    Yep. Definitely trying out that oatmeal very, very soon. Thanks for sharing the recipe! I’ve been loving my Crock Pot. 🙂

  7. My crock pot is one of my favorite things to use in the kitchen! Especially on the weekends. My mom got me a new slow cooker cook book that has some awesome and healthy recipes in it for Christmas. The two recipes that I have made so far have been delicious!

  8. You are completely inspiring me! I need to use my crock pot more often. I have hardly used it in MONTHS!

  9. true life. I am scared of my crock pot. I have only used it once

  10. MAN I need a slow cooker. How nice would it be to throw together dinner in the am and then have it perfectly warm and delicious when I get home? Reheating leftovers every night is starting to make me sad.

  11. Both recipes look AWESOME! I’ve been meaning to try the oats recipe for a while, I’ve seen it all over pinterest and wonder if it works. I will definitely be trying it SOON! 😀 YAY for slow cookers! & I totally have to snatch up those liners, I swear I’ve never seen them at the store…maybe I’m just not looking in the right spot.

  12. I need to try those liners! I’ve never heard of them but wow, what a difference they would make!

  13. I had a crockpot at school. How many times did I use it? None. Slow-Cooker = 1. Lauren = 0. That oatmeal looks so freakin’ good!

  14. I love love love the crockpot. I use it all the time. I have a crockpot in all sizes of crockpots. Hahahahaha

  15. That oatmeal looks/sounds to die for, heck the chicken does too! I have a crockpot but definitely don’t use it as often as I should!

  16. Yummy! I really want to start slow cooking! I hear so many good things.

  17. Oh goodness, slow cooker liners are my FAVORITE! I use them every time I use my slow cooker!

  18. I really want to utilize my slow cooker before I leave because of all your loving. That oatmeal looks AMAZING! I did not know that the liners existed.. Mind blown.

  19. Honey Garlic Chicken? Um yes please!!!!

  20. I still haven’t jumped on the slow cooker wagon–my mom is going to let me use her slow cooker for a while so I can see if I like it/need it!

Leave a Reply

