Puppy Loving

I had a fairly productive and personally gratifying day yesterday.

It started with a quick 2700 yard swim workout done coachless and in 50 minutes.

  • 1200 swim
  • 500 kick
  • 500 pull
  • 500 swim

Wham, bam.  Done working out by 6:30 am.

From there, I headed back home, read some of my book, and then decided to finally head to the Humane Society as I had been pondering for a few days.  Man, am I glad I went.  Just look at these guys:

 54d6339e61ae11e2b1f822000a1f9751_7

Top left: Larry, a 3 month old lab mix.  Top right: Batman, a 5 month old Terrier with adorable mismatched eyes. Bottom left: Abacus, a super hyper and fun pitbull.  And last but not least, bottom right: Swish, the only girl in the group, and was sweet as any girl should be Smile.

I soooo wanted to take out my credit card and buy Larry on the spot.  So cute.  He didn’t quite understand how a leash works yet, wish made me laugh and smile and want to love him even more.  I don’t think this will be a one and done affair.  I think I fell in love at the animal shelter.  And I walked about 2 miles, which is never a bad thing.

Once I got home, I got to making this fabulous Dirty Monkey cake as suggested by Lauren.  Wow was it tasty.  Thankfully we are going to watch the Pens game at a friend’s today (hooray, hockey!)  so I can pass some off to others or else it could be dangerous.  I ended up making 1.5 times the recipe in order to fill my bigger cakepan.  And I am glad that I did!

IMG_0396

I think this is now a favorite of Trav’s.  And it was enjoyed both before and after this yummy dinner:

IMG_0415

Roasted (on 375) some red-skinned potatoes and peppers in olive oil, garlic salt, rosemary, salt, and pepper, and then after fifteen minutes added in some chicken sausage until it was all a little brown and fully cooked.  Delicious.

The night was spent sobbing over the ending of my book: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green.  This book was everything I expected from the fabulous writer.  The story is depressing and uplifting all at the same time.  And there were tears, lots of tears. 

1217-f-booksfault

Off to swim practice I go! Two days in a row Smile 

Do you have a workout on the agenda today?

9 Comments

Filed under Book, Food, Swimming

9 responses to “Puppy Loving

  1. i keep saying i want to volunteer at a shelter but i just can’t find time. I did in high school and loved it. i’m heading out for a longish run now.

  2. that puppy day sounds like a blast! I’m glad you are making a difference with all your free time! you rock! (:

  3. Angela @ Health's Angel

    A great way to spend your free time! Dogs melt my heart. That cake looks incredible, and I may have to check out that book. I’m making it a point to read more books each month this year, and I’m almost finished with my latest one!

    LETS GO PENS! 🙂

  4. That seems like a great swim workout. 2700 yards seems like a long way to swim!

    I like making that potato and sausage dish for dinner because it is easy. I usually cook the sausage and potato separately though. Next time I will roast them together.

  5. You rock for going and hanging with puppies! I am heading out on a hike shortly!

  6. Aww, they are ALL so cute! I loved my time volunteering with the humane shelter – that’s how we ended up with our pup! 🙂

  7. I love dogs with mismatched eyes.. they’re so cute! I think it’s so awesome that you volunteered!

Leave a Reply

